Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-26-2011, 05:42 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Repairing rotten wall studs on exterior wall

Hi All,

Im a newbie to the forum, but look forward to reading all the wonderful advice and tips.

I have a little problem that Id like to get some feedback on if possible.
What began as a simple tile repair job, has turned into a full on shower replacement due to some rot I discovered underneath the shower. Apparently the custom built shower pan (from previous owners) wasnt built correctly and the curb failed, causing a leak. Im replacing with a pre-fab multi-piece shower.

The problem is that the rot is on about 3-4 studs and the bottom plate of on an exterior wall (see photos). The rot only extends about 12-18 up the studs and about 6 ft of the bottom plate. The subfloor is also rotted and 1 of the floor joists (2x12) has some discoloration and just a little bit of softness toward the top 1 in the one corner, otherwise its solid.

Id rather not have to tear off siding to replace the plate and rotten wall studs if I dont have to, and Id rather not have to replace the floor joist either for such a small amount of damage to it.

Any ideas/tips/etc on how to approach this from the inside? I appreciate the help.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Repairing rotten wall studs on exterior wall-img_0118_resized.jpg  
Attached Images

croms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 09:39 AM   #2

You can repair the studs and plate from the interior. It will be easier if the ceiling joists are perpendicular to the wall so you can build a temporary stud wall to support the load while you remove the bottom plate.
Support the wall.
Remove the damaged plate and replace it.
Cut out the damaged section of the studs (as square as possible)
-Put in a new stud next to the damaged one(put construction adhesive where the stud hits the exterior sheathing)