Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-09-2013, 05:51 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Remodeling a bar: PART ONE

Hello all,

I'm very new to the world of tools, so be easy on me! I have just become fascinated by what people can accomplish with tools and know-how. I feel so inferior and helpless We have a family bar that is in need of many repairs. I've decided to just go haywire and ask you all a ton of questions. I'll be photographing the bar/restaurant and hopefully some of you will chime in with ideas/suggestions, etc. So here goes...

A) Here is a view from the kitchen. You'll notice the old, greasy wooden cabinet doors, many of which need magnets replaced so they will actually stay shut. I have considered painting these cabinets and replacing the hinges/handles. If I were to paint these, what type of paint would I use? I would want something durable that can be cleaned because they will get dirty! Also, would I be correct in saying all I would have to do is clean them, sand them, re-clean to remove dust, prime, then paint (or prime and paint in one step with a combo primer/paint)?

B) We have some wires traveling about the doorway here. It is being held by something I am unsure the name of; it looks like a thin nail with a plastic piece which holds onto the wire when nailed in. It looks like a sloppy job. Any ideas on how to make this less of an eyesore? *BONUS question: what is the yellow wall paneling called? I hate it (the color is ugly and falling off in many places).

C) On the outside of the building there are some cracks in the brickwork. Seems like something should be done here. Thoughts?