DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Radiant floor heat question.

3K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  warmsmeallup 
#1 ·
I am just getting started on a project and one of the things we are deciding on is radiant floor heat. In the kitchen for sure we are going with tile and are going to put radiant heat under it. In the adjoined dining/sitting-tv room we don't know for sure if we are going carpet or tile. If we go tile the job of finding radiant heat is not too bad. If we go with carpet we are going to put radiant heat under that because it is a room that has no basement and the room does not heat evenly which leaves it sometimes uncomfortable in the cold season.
For tile floors are there any recommendations that you have for a good radiant heat. I do have some that I have found that look good but some of you have some good pointers.
The hard one is if we do decide to do carpet there has been a very limited choice to chose from. Anyone with some good leads? Thanks.

#3 · (Edited)
You can use low voltage Zmesh under all of it. Though if you do use carpet, you'll want to lay some 1/8" leuon (cheap plywood) over the top of the Zmesh to protect it from the carpet removal in 10 years. It comes with a 25 year element warranty. It's made of bronze screen so it won't corrode and you can staple or nail through all you want without damaging it.

Here's a link. Be sure to scroll down the page to view the slides:
http://www.comfortradiant.com/gallery_zmesh_carpet_hardwood.php

As for the 'no heat issue', radiant heat goes to cold. When we install it over a cold area, like a garage, we require a reflective barrier installed 1" down off the subfloor between the joists below. Then a plain fiberglass below that (R-19 if it will fit). This will create a great insulator and help to 'reflect' the heat that you would normally loose downward, back up.

#4 · (Edited)