Put Fascia On Old Windows - Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2008, 04:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

put fascia on old windows


Hello,
We own 8 rental properties. I would like to put fascia on the old windows instead of installing new ones. I got some estimates, it costs us a $3,000 for each properties. I am wondering could my husband and I do it ourseleves?? thanks..

Sherry

Advertisement

sunpalozzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 07:13 PM   #2
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

put fascia on old windows


Pictures and more descriptions would help us understand what exactly you want to do, and if it is do-able by you and your husband.

Advertisement

__________________
- Build Well -
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 10:11 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

put fascia on old windows


First of all, let's get your terminology right. Fascia is the board that sits on edge at your roofline and creates the transition from the soffit to the roof edge. The gutters mount to the fascia.

My guess is that you are talking about some sort of window trim or brickmould. The ease or difficulty of doing it will be determined by how it is built currently. There is a chance that it is a DIY project, but should only be undertaken if you are a competent carpenter. This project is not the place to learn how to correctly flash exterior trim, and mistakes will cost you in the long run.

Post some pictures so we can see what you've got, and we can go from there.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 09:43 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

put fascia on old windows


Hi,
thank you for the replies. attached is a pic of one of the windows that need to be either painted or replaced or I am thinking to put the aluminum trims to cover up the current window trims.... After some researching, I made the decision to go with putting up the alumimum trims to cover the window trims up.. I watched enougth "HG TV" to sugguest my husband may be we can do it ourselves... thanks...

sherry
Attached Thumbnails
put fascia on old windows-bad-window.jpg  
sunpalozzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 09:21 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

put fascia on old windows


I doubt you'll be happy with an aluminum cap over the existing trim. Have you located a source for such an item? If you were re-siding the house with a similar system, I would think it were feasible. As it is, my opinion is that you need to replace the wood trim. Aluminum is just a band-aid fix over something that really needs to be replaced to keep the house from rotting.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replace anderson windows hobbyguy2002 Remodeling 13 12-06-2009 10:34 PM
Fascia cover filled with water/ice causing leaks brianbh Roofing/Siding 10 02-11-2008 08:34 PM
First time vinyl siding newbie plus windows justdon Remodeling 9 02-06-2008 07:39 PM
new windows juliejules4 HVAC 12 12-06-2006 02:37 PM
How do I install new windows? RickT Carpentry 17 10-12-2006 07:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts