Plaster Walls And Lathe - Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2007, 11:09 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Plaster walls and Lathe


Are plaster walls and lathe strong enough to hold up a small cabinet, or should I try to find the studs? Does a stud finder work through plaster and lathe?

Advertisement

Keith in Connecticut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 07:08 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Plaster walls and Lathe


You don't really need to find the studs. Use 1/4" toggle bolts.
Ron

Advertisement

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 11:29 PM   #3
Builder/Remodeler
 
ChrWright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Plaster walls and Lathe


Stud finders will not work with plaster/lathe.

It would have to be one VERY small cabinet to mount to the lathe only.

You can find the studs by drilling test holes with a masonry drill bit where the cabinet will go, OR... look at the baseboard for the finish nails---they are usually into studs. Another method is to use the receptacles and switches. The boxes are usually nailed to studs & you can use them to establish a 16" layout to ballpark where the studs should be.

1/4" toggle bolts are a poor fastener for a cabinet in plaster, IMO....
ChrWright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 04:56 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Plaster walls and Lathe


use a magnetic finder or metal detector finder, to find the nails,
you can buy a magnetic one for under 3.00 or try this trick

http://www.instructables.com/id/How-...to-find-Studs/
andromelas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 07:05 PM   #5
Remodeling Contractor
 
oldfrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northwest Ct.
Posts: 225
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Plaster walls and Lathe


Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrWright View Post
Stud finders will not work with plaster/lathe.

It would have to be one VERY small cabinet to mount to the lathe only.

You can find the studs by drilling test holes with a masonry drill bit where the cabinet will go, OR... look at the baseboard for the finish nails---they are usually into studs. Another method is to use the receptacles and switches. The boxes are usually nailed to studs & you can use them to establish a 16" layout to ballpark where the studs should be.
1/4" toggle bolts are a poor fastener for a cabinet in plaster, IMO....

Not necessarily true in older homes with lath and plaster.A lot of the electrical boxes were just set in the walls where needed or in the baseboards.
I have never found an older home with plaster and lathe that have studs on 16" centers.
However the small finish nail method along with tapping on the wall to find the sweat spot(where the stud is)will help along with a stud finder,provided there wasn't metal lathe used.Some models can be adjusted for the depth of the plaster(sensitivity setting)
Molly bolts are a good solution in case there isn't a couple of studs in the area where the cabinet is going.

The problem with the Toggle bolts is,once it's through the wall,it isn't coming back out ,so you have to set it through the cabinet,line it up with a pre-drilled holes and tighten it up while holding pressure on it so it doesn't spin behind the wall .
Molly's on the other hand can be pre-drilled and set in the wall and the screw can be extracted to insert through the cabinet .

Best shot is to try and find a couple of studs,easier and guaranteed support.
Sometimes you can see the spacing in the studs by going in the attic.A lot of the older homes were balloon framed and the exposed stud you see in the attic is the same one all the way down to the first floor.

Also in Connecticut
JR

Last edited by oldfrt; 01-03-2008 at 07:09 PM.
oldfrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 08:36 PM   #6
Oldguy
 
Rehabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calif (the left coast)
Posts: 498
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Plaster walls and Lathe


Quote:
Originally Posted by oldfrt View Post
Not necessarily true in older homes with lath and plaster.A lot of the electrical boxes were just set in the walls where needed


JR
Excellent advice

Advertisement

__________________
If you think you can, or if you think you can't, you're probably right.

ASE certified master auto tech, Retired.
Rehabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plaster to drywall joint question. ERIK2173 Remodeling 7 05-16-2009 05:58 PM
tin walls and kitchen cabinets MKemnitzer General DIY Discussions 6 01-05-2007 04:47 PM
replacing lathe and plaster eager2lern Building & Construction 2 12-04-2006 01:52 PM
plaster problems... gemelli2 Remodeling 2 10-11-2006 07:10 PM
bathroom wall advice bigbrad123 General DIY Discussions 9 06-07-2006 08:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts