Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-22-2013, 10:30 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Pallet Wall, Need Help

I'm in the process of some pallet wall projects for friends. One of these will be a pallet wall in a bathroom. Here's my list of questions/concerns
1.) Moisture behind the pallet planks, what type of paint/primer should I look into. and stain as well.
2.) Mirror removal and framing. I'll search the site for some information on this, but it's a pretty generic mirror with those plastic tabs to hold it.
3.) Toilet removal (to get planks behind it) I'm sure this is on the site as well.

Basically this is my first post, and I'm not sure if I posted this on the wrong thread or not, so if I did. I'm sorry. Also I'm a beginner. And I'll try not to post dumb questions, but if I do, take it easy on me.

Thanks in advance for all the help!

Big.Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 10:54 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 4,152

Pallet Wall, Need Help

Are you talking about reusing boards from pallets to cover the walls?
I just can not imagine that being a good idea in of all rooms a bathroom.
That would be impossible to clean, highly likely to be damaged from the moisture in the room. It's going to throw off all the door, baseboard and window trim. May be a problem when resetting the toilet.
The ends of the boards need to fall on a stud.
The toilet comes out by shutting the water off and flushing the toilet, removing the waterline and the two nuts holding it to the floor. I like to remove the filter in my shop vac and sucking out all the left over water in the toilet before moving it.
Your going to need a new wax ring when resetting the toilet.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 08:44 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,142

Pallet Wall, Need Help