Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-17-2008, 10:23 PM   #1

Share |

Opening Up Stairwell Wall

Hello, new member here. Usually more of a lurker but i dont think i will find the answer to this question by searching. I am very new to all this. I have handy friends but none of them are professional carpenters.

I have recently started a basement remodel project and have been tossing around the idea of opening up the stairwell that goes into my basement. This is a load bearing wall so I am trying to guage how much work it might be.

The wall looks like this:

The load on top of the existing wall

This is where i was thinking the header would be extended to. Not sure how to handle the floor beams that run in the opposite direction.

You can find more images here:

http://profile.imageshack.us/user/jeffmn/

I am not sure the best way to do this. I would think maybe you add a couple of 2x10's to support the load and run those over to the block wall on the left hand side. If you did this i dont know what you would do with the 2x10's that are running perpendicular to where i think the new header would go. Plus there is already a 2x10 resting on the block foundation wall that would need to be cut to support the new header.

Does anyone have any idea if this is feasible or a good idea?

I do plan to pull a permit for this whole project and would like my changes to be up to code. Do you think the city will require a structural plan for this change? I live in minnesota if that makes a difference.

Any assistance large or small is greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Jeff

jeffmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 10:33 AM   #2

You could do what you are proposing.

It wouldn't really even be that hard.