Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-25-2010, 03:28 PM   #1

Share |

Newbie with bathroom remodel

I am remodeling my 1937 (sort of) bungalow. One story, brick, with a non-brick family room addition and a non-brick weird room addition in rear, done circa 1962. 1500 SF total, all plaster and lath walls, (except the additions) hardwood floors. I am a total newbie. I would describe myelf as clueless but both determined and resourceful and somehow I have a fair number of tools, some of which I actually know how to use.

If I had a nickel for every youtube video I've watched just on hanging drywall alone, I'd be a very rich lady. Which I'm not, hence me planning on doing all the work I can by myself. And I mean by myself as there is no husband in the picture. I do have lots of friends but they are not super handy with this stuff, exept one, so they will be offering to come over and "hang out and help" but believe me the emphasis will be on hanging out. I will definitely hire pros when absolutely required.

My first project is the one and only bathroom. It's a horror as these pics show, however as my cousin so nicely commented, "it doesn't look any worse than it did before." So true. I was embarrassed to have ppl use th bathroom. Tiled lower portion of walls, plaster and lath underneath, original hex tile on floor, horrible bath/shower combo where they slapped cheap plastic tub/shower surround on, including covering up fairly big window in center of long bathtub wall. The bathroom is 5 feet x about 7 feet 6 inches.

My plan:
- Wainscoting (wider than beadboard) on lower wall (roughly where tile was), paint on upper.
- Black penny round tiles with black grout on floor.
- White subway tile around tub.
- Wall mounted stainless steel oval sink in wood cabinet (not a vanity)