Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-27-2009, 06:52 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Move Wall in '09 Mobile Home

my mother bought a trailer this past year, and now wants to make a few changes to the layout. the trailer is brand new this year, and i think its 14x65, or in that area. 2x6 walls, pitched & shingled roof.

she wants to move the wall between the living room and spare bedroom back about 3 feet, give or take, depending on where the studs are. the pic below can explain better than i can.

so, i've never worked on a trailer before, so this is new to me. i spoke with an inspector though, and he told me that the floor and walls were placed first, and then the ceiling and roof was all dropped on last by crane. then the walls just screw into the studs/joist/rafters.

the way he talked, getting the wall loose basically boils down to pulling the paneling off, and taking out the screws. then i would have to remove a section of wall in the hallway, and place the unattached wall were i want it, and reattach it with screws. i know there is a special tool for removing the paneling w/o tearing it up, but other than that, it seems pretty simple.

one other concern i have is whether the walls are load bearing. the one that runs parallel with the joist and rafters should be fine (i think), since its only a 14' span, and the trusses are there. the hallway wall is more of a concern, since its perpendicular to the rafters. again though, they only span 14', and there is no second floor to add weight. do you guys think they will be fine without any bracing during the job?

well that's it, for now. thanks for any help.

double b26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 10:51 AM   #2

well, does anyone have any ideas about this?