Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-30-2012, 10:43 PM   #1
Newbie with a hammer

Share |

Mirror Removal - Demo Advice?

This is going to make me sound like I've never done any DIY renos before, but I swear this has got me stumped. I'm doing a reno of our small guest bathroom, and there's this mirror that was behind the toilet that covers 3/4 of the wall (why anyone would want a mirror there I'm not sure, or at least I don't want to think about the possible answers...)

Anyway, I have no idea how this thing is attached. At the bottom there's a thin metal bracket that appears to be screwed into the walls only at the two ends, and at the top it appears to be held in place by the crown molding. I tried to leverage the mirror up a bit to see if it moves, and it seems pretty well stuck in place. I'm not sure if they glued it on - the small mirror that was clipped to the wall over the sink had this goopy black glue smeared on the back, extra support I guess - so I'm wondering if they used the same thing here.

I need to figure out how to get this down. All I have so far is the "heavy handed" approach, which involves a hammer and gloves. Any suggestions for getting it down in one piece?

Photos are here

Last edited by trekkaround; 10-30-2012 at 10:45 PM. Reason: heading
trekkaround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 11:57 PM   #2

It sounds to me, without seeing it, that it is glued down, which is common.

I recently removed a very large glued down mirror and managed to get it off in one piece. I did a ton of research so I will share what I did and it worked. But keep in mind every suggestion I read came with the warning that this may not work and your mirror may break. So be warned!