DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Remodeling (http://www.diychatroom.com/f15/)
-   -   Looking for an opinion on what to do with a wall opening... (http://www.diychatroom.com/f15/looking-opinion-what-do-wall-opening-28987/)

skipjack 09-29-2008 04:59 PM

Looking for an opinion on what to do with a wall opening...
 
My house had this rather 70's-looking balustered opening between the kitchen and the hallway. My original intention was to pull the thing out and just drywall over the opening.

However, I'm getting mixed reviews on what to do with the space and now I'm not so sure.

My mother said to leave the balusters.
My brother said to fill it with glass block.
My girlfriend says to wall it up.

Here's a pic of what I'm talking about:

http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/8...0012yh6.th.jpg

DangerMouse 09-29-2008 05:58 PM

mother, brother or girlfriend..... only one real choice, isn't there? *grin*

DM

Maintenance 6 09-30-2008 07:49 AM

Close it. You can use the wall space to hang a picture of your girlfriend and score points to trade in for valuable prizes later on.

Nia 10-03-2008 12:45 AM

Wall it!:thumbsup:

Nia

EdinDesign 10-03-2008 02:26 PM

Wall it up...

OR... open the whole thing up (an option you haven't listed) to the corner. Of course I think you'd have to replace the header for the doorway... but it could be done relatively easily.

Opening up this doorway would lend itself to a more "open concept" feel in your home that's so desirable these days. If you do this, I would recommend removing the trim (it's too small anyway [in my opinion]) and drywalling the whole opening.

kjwoodworking 10-03-2008 06:10 PM

I would wall it up, if knocking it out and making the opening bigger is not an option for you.

I think opening it up would look better and make the space from the kitchen and the view from the room on other side of the wall, I'm guessing is a den or living room, look bigger and more open.

skipjack 10-08-2008 10:03 AM

I just put on the first coat of joint compound last night.. so it's been walled up. ;) thanks everyone.

Inspecting the drywall around it.. it looks as if it used to be a door at some point. The best I can guess is sometime in the 80's someone turned the door into a balustered window and made the larger opening into the livingroom. (and added some hideous fake rock paneling to the adjacent wall)

I had thought about opening it up all the way to the wall like you said, Edie.. but it's load bearing and would involve more than I'm willing to do at the moment. Maybe someday.

Allison1888 10-20-2008 08:54 PM

wall opening
 
Good choice. Post some pics so we can see it!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 AM.