Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2013, 09:24 AM   #1
Roadie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Installing wall unit over an outlet


Hi,
I live in Pennsylvania and I am installing a wall unit in my dining room. In doing so, I will be covering up an electrical outlet. Do I need to move this outlet so it is accessible, can I make it accessible through the wall unit, or can I cover it up? Thank you.

bdechill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 10:13 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,547
Default

Installing wall unit over an outlet


Is this a piece of furniture, or is it being attached to the wall?
How thick is the back of the unit?

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 10:15 AM   #3
Roadie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3
Default

Installing wall unit over an outlet


It is separate pieces and being attached to the wall.
Back of cabinets is about 1/4" thick.

Last edited by bdechill; 12-03-2013 at 10:16 AM. Reason: Added more info.
bdechill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 10:23 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,345
Default

Installing wall unit over an outlet


Since it is attached to the wall the receptacle can not be covered up. You can cut a hole in the back of the unit to expose the receptacle and be fine by electrical code.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (12-03-2013)
Old 12-03-2013, 10:43 AM   #5
Roadie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3
Default

Installing wall unit over an outlet


Even if the receptacle will only be accessible if the cabinet doors are opened and a drawer is pulled out?
bdechill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 03:40 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,857
Default

Installing wall unit over an outlet


Yes, it would still be legal.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to md2lgyk For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (12-03-2013)
Old 12-08-2013, 12:00 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 285
Default

Installing wall unit over an outlet


Actually, it depends. A building inspector told my parents that a receptacle installed inside of a cabinet on top of a bathroom vanity wasn't accessible. No drawer to pull out in that case, either; just two cabinet doors to open. I happen to disagree, but that doesn't really matter in that case.
JKeefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 05:35 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,857
Default

Installing wall unit over an outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by JKeefe View Post
Actually, it depends. A building inspector told my parents that a receptacle installed inside of a cabinet on top of a bathroom vanity wasn't accessible. No drawer to pull out in that case, either; just two cabinet doors to open. I happen to disagree, but that doesn't really matter in that case.
Actually, the only thing it "depends" on is how knowledgeable the inspector is. I have two or three outlets inside wall cabinets, and passed inspection with no problem. In your parents' case, I would've asked (politely, of course) for referral to the code section that allegedly makes such receptacles noncompliant.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 09:20 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,407
Default

Installing wall unit over an outlet


i would put the wall unit where ever i felt like, however i felt like
then went and had a beer

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, outlet


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two Switches, an outdoor light, and a wall plug MichaelT Electrical 1 03-06-2011 05:17 PM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 05:13 PM
Installing outlet on existing drywalled wall Red Squirrel Electrical 19 06-05-2010 12:08 AM
Electrical outlet controlled by a wall switch? rinlo Electrical 14 12-28-2008 10:30 PM
Installing new wall receptacle... jaysen Electrical 18 06-10-2008 08:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.