Installing Blinds.... Brackets Need To Go Into Concrete - Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2010, 12:53 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Installing blinds.... Brackets need to go into concrete


I just had a basement finished, and now need to install/hang up window blinds. The basement windows are cut into the foundation wall, and there's no framing around the inside of the window. They are about 14 inches deep, and I don't want to install the blinds on the ouside, I want them inside, so I'll have to drill the mounting brackets thru the dryall, into the concrete foundation wall behind it.

Is this ok to do, and if so, is a hammer drill the only way to go?

I tried using a masonry bit with my 18-volt drill and it didn't work whatsoever. Here is a picture of one of the windows at rough framing; The white stuff is just a plastic sheet covering the insulation. Its taped right against the foundation;


Advertisement

dtmbizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 08:12 AM   #2
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,271
Rewards Points: 3,182
Default

Installing blinds.... Brackets need to go into concrete


A cheap small hammer drill may be in your future. Having a corded hammer drill ( about $29--$39) is worth the expense.

Also the carbide bits--I use bosch any thing cheaper just seem to die to quickly.--Mike--

Advertisement

oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 11:12 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Installing blinds.... Brackets need to go into concrete


Thanks Mike. On my way soon to check HD and Lowes for one. I did a little research on the bits, are TAPCON as good as Bosch?
dtmbizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 12:12 PM   #4
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,271
Rewards Points: 3,182
Default

Installing blinds.... Brackets need to go into concrete


The tapcon bits are fine--The bits last a long time with a small hammer drill--Heat is the big bit killer--Keep a cup of water handy to dip the bit in.
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 07:19 PM   #5
DaBlinds
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing blinds.... Brackets need to go into concrete


Be careful with your windows.
Jmccosker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 04:41 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Installing blinds.... Brackets need to go into concrete


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmccosker View Post
Be careful with your windows.
I was veeeeeeery careful, and cognizant of the windows. The hammer drill worked perfectly, I was able to put up all 5 sets of blinds in one day. Drilling at that weird angle was difficult, but I was able to get a system down. Hope I never have to do it again tho!

Advertisement

dtmbizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing shower pan on a concrete floor sv9779 Remodeling 19 03-13-2011 11:03 AM
Installing copper gutter to replace some concrete tiles whattodo Roofing/Siding 2 07-28-2009 08:28 AM
Installing a shower pan--questions on concrete floor RuthL Building & Construction 14 07-21-2009 01:16 PM
Filling sunken living room w/ concrete Q's phil. Building & Construction 5 07-10-2009 01:03 PM
Installing concrete floor in crawl space timchi29 Building & Construction 3 09-16-2008 09:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts