Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-25-2008, 08:10 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Installing baseboards on lath & plaster

I am a new DYI’er remodeling a 1948 lath & plaster home. It’s been fun and a big learning experience but could use some expert advice. When attaching MDF baseboards (5/8” at base, 3/8” top x 3 ¼ ) using 16 ga. x 2 ½ galv. finish nails at 90 psi, the nails will not penetrate the walls – the nails curled up and left dime sized holes in the plaster. I tried 100 psi with same results. This is my first time working with lath & plaster. Any suggestions will be most appreciated! Thanks…

B Scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 01:44 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

Is it possible that someone removed the gauging strip at the bottom of the wall.

On the gyproc plaster walls in my building, there's a 1X3 at the bottom of the wall that's covered by the baseboard. The baseboard is nailed directly to it.

I can't imagine how they would have attached baseboards in 1948 to that wall if there were no gauging strip along the bottom to which the baseboard could be nailed. A nail driven into plaster won't hold.

If it wuz me, I'd probably use double sided carpet tape to attach your baseboards to your plaster walls then.

Nestor_Kelebay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2008, 06:58 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 75

I would suggest using "Liquid Nails" to attach the baseboards. If you use construction grade adhesive, it will adhere forever. In fact, the plaster will come off before the baseboard; guaranteed. Then, you can caulk and paint.
Handyman50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2008, 07:41 PM   #4
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler

Rewards Points: 2,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by B Scott View Post