Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-08-2006, 08:19 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Angry

i hate brick houses

newbie here i have a brick house im trying to remodel, and i desperately need to know the right way to insulate the exterior walls without adding 2x6es and shrinking my living space any help would be appreciated.....rick

rick32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2006, 11:38 PM   #2

i hate brick houses

where are you at now? ~1" furring strips with plaster lathe over them? or exposed brick?

Littlefatdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 06:28 AM   #3

i hate brick houses

exposed brick in one room right now i put up a 2x4 wall 6" in to allow for the r-19 insulation really shrunk the room. i have three rooms left to go just wanted to know if there was another way to do it without loosing living space. i live in the north east so winter is a major factor.
tha walls seem to be about 2-3 brick layers thick if that helps......thanks
Old 08-09-2006, 11:10 AM   #4

i hate brick houses

I believe there is a type of blow in insulation - that involves either putting holes in the Brick of from the inside.
tribe_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 08:33 PM   #5

i hate brick houses

no blown goes in big hollow walls. the brick wall he has is going to be solid. in terms of how radiative heat works, that brick is essentially going to suck the heat right out of anything warm. not literally, but its a good way of thinking about the issue.