Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-14-2006, 07:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

How do I drill the hole in the wall if I don't know location of electrical wire


I need to hang medicine cabinet in my bathroom. There is a sconce on that wall. I can use stud finder to locate studs but how can I locateelectrical wires?

popkadurak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 07:11 PM   #2
Oldguy
 
Rehabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calif (the left coast)
Posts: 498
Default

How do I drill the hole in the wall if I don't know location of electrical wire


Some of the better stud finders have electricity locaters in them, or buy a specialty circuit tracer

__________________
If you think you can, or if you think you can't, you're probably right.

ASE certified master auto tech, Retired.
Rehabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 07:23 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Default

How do I drill the hole in the wall if I don't know location of electrical wire


Will the fact that I have plaster walls affect the reading?
popkadurak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 07:51 PM   #4
renovations
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 430
Default

How do I drill the hole in the wall if I don't know location of electrical wire


Why do you need to locate the wires? Simply so that you don't cut them? Is the cabinet hung IN the wall or ON the wall. If you're simply screwing it to the wall just avoid drilling too deep. The wires should be over an inch inside the wall. Drill, put your plugs in and screw on the cab.
Bonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 08:22 PM   #5
fhi vinyl windows
 
fhivinylwindows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: MA & RI
Posts: 178
Default

How do I drill the hole in the wall if I don't know location of electrical wire


The stud sensor with current finder will be able to penetrate the plaster.
fhivinylwindows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 08:39 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
Default

How do I drill the hole in the wall if I don't know location of electrical wire


I don't remember the brand of stud finder I bought but it was in no way a cheap model, it does have a current finder built in but it was hit and miss through my plaster walls.
It was actually pretty useless for findind studs, and it got a very weak signal for wires.
ERIK2173 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 11:37 AM   #7
fhi vinyl windows
 
fhivinylwindows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: MA & RI
Posts: 178
Default

How do I drill the hole in the wall if I don't know location of electrical wire


Try Zircon. I use the Zircon videoscanner 5.5. It scans wood+metal and has a continuous ac detection. You will need to move it away from the wall a little after you detect current in order to get a better idea where the wire goes.
fhivinylwindows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 12:21 PM   #8
They're all fixer-uppers
 
J187's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 988
Default

How do I drill the hole in the wall if I don't know location of electrical wire


My zircon works very well for AC detection, best stud finder I've ever used as well...
J187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 01:19 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
Default

How do I drill the hole in the wall if I don't know location of electrical wire


After looking it up I have one of the Zircon's I think it's the Multi Scan Pro. I basically bought the best one I could find at Lowe's since my old one told me there was a stud everywhere. The deepscan mode worked O.K. in some rooms but form my bathroom ceiling it didn't work at all.
ERIK2173 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 09:58 PM   #10
fhi vinyl windows
 
fhivinylwindows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: MA & RI
Posts: 178
Default

How do I drill the hole in the wall if I don't know location of electrical wire


If you get digging around, let us know how many layers of plaster you have. You should be able to test the ac function on an extension cord with layers of scrap sheetrock over it.
fhivinylwindows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 10:06 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
Default

How do I drill the hole in the wall if I don't know location of electrical wire


True, your walls may be thinner than mine are, with the backerboards and the plaster there is over an inch over the top of the studs in my house. Which by the way makes it very hard to buy replacement pre-hung doors.
How the wire is shielded might also have some effect on how easily you can find them.

ERIK2173 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hole in new construction basement wall AprilQ Building & Construction 5 07-08-2008 06:14 PM
dishwasher electrical wire feb Electrical 31 04-12-2008 10:04 AM
Hole in wall w/ stress cracks... lots of detailed pics (NOT 56k connection friendly) Thaipo Building & Construction 8 05-21-2007 06:40 AM
Atlantic-need your opinion on markd's comments about my vapor barrier? yummy mummy Building & Construction 11 03-07-2007 09:47 AM
got rid of kitchen island, how to get rid of the electrical wire from floor ckcrew Electrical 15 12-14-2006 09:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.