Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2006, 10:15 PM   #1
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how do I attach the insullation between studs?


I am re-using insullation that I have removed. (it is a blanket insullation that was on the walls previously).

I will cut it to size to fit my newly installed studs. (I am proud of my work so far, all level and strong)

How do I adhere it to the studs?
Or do I really need to adhere it, or will it just stay in place by itself?

Thanks for all the information.

yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 07:26 AM   #2
General Contractor
 
joasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 876
Rewards Points: 500
Default

how do I attach the insullation between studs?


We generally staple it with the edge of the kraft face, at least at the top edges.

joasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 08:56 AM   #3
renovations
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 430
Rewards Points: 250
Default

how do I attach the insullation between studs?


If it is not kraft-faced:
Cut it carefully so that it is about 1/2" larger than the cavity, then it will just press in and stay there. A trick for cutting insulation is to take a scrap piece of plywood about 2' wide and cut a slot in it about 1/4" wide, keep the slot about 4" or so back from the ends of the plywood. Then line up the slot on the insulation where you want to make the cut, stand on the plywood to compress the insulation and run a knife down the slot. This gives you a nice clean line.
Bonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 09:24 AM   #4
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how do I attach the insullation between studs?


Thanks for the great tip on cutting the insullation.

I will try it.
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 11:21 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how do I attach the insullation between studs?


I am not sure if you are talking about those pink tiger insulation... R20.. or somthing, if you are, cutting those is so easy..... don't know if you really need the plywood...
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 03:19 PM   #6
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how do I attach the insullation between studs?


I am cutting the pink stuff.

I don't know how many different types of insullation there are, but mine is pink and poofy.

I guess I would just cut with utility knife?
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 03:28 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how do I attach the insullation between studs?


probably then... please don't make the mistakes as I did, trying to use the old insulation to cover an area which is larger than it suppose to cover, by sketching the insulation ...to save money... it is not worth it... I personally end up redid those area, why:

1. the insulation is so thinned off, it is not enough to cover the same area, say it used to cover 10 sq. ft, it may only enough to cover 5 sq. ft of the new area... because when you pull down the old insulation, some stick to the plastic vapour barrier...

2. the old insulation was so bit and piecess, it is very difficult to install, it takes 5 times longer than new insulation...

3. What I did is I end up purchase new insulation first, knowing that I am going to need to anyway, as the old cannot cover everything... then use the old insulation to cover non-standard size areas... like studs which are not 16 inches apart...or odd spaces

if you use old insulation to cover standard size, you waste work you could have saved with new insulation... also remember good insulation does make your basement warmer,... I don't know if it is psycrological or what, I found my basement is quite warm compare to before....
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 04:11 PM   #8
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how do I attach the insullation between studs?


I guess I will probably end up buying some, but my husband said that it cost us $700.00 to put the wrap around insullation and he wants me to try to use as much as I can.

I told him I will try but if it is going to drive me crazy, then I will buy new insullation.

(He will eventually get over his annoyance) (lol)



Thanks Kui****g
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 05:47 PM   #9
DIY'er
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Glastonbury, CT
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

how do I attach the insullation between studs?


Little off topic...
Remember to keep the receipts for any new insulation. Starting this year and into 2008, the IRS gives up to a 500.00 credit for adding energy saving materials to your home. Insulation, storm doors, replacment windows, some types of heating and cooling.

insulation is: 10% of cost, up to $500
Not sure about the others.
__________________
Doug Russell

"What if the hokey pokey really IS what its all about."

Last edited by dougrus; 11-02-2006 at 06:03 PM. Reason: add
dougrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 08:24 PM   #10
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how do I attach the insullation between studs?


Thanks for the information about rebate on new insulation, but I live in Canada and we don't have anything like that here, unfortunately.

Can I still send George W. the bill though?
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 08:39 PM   #11
DIY'er
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Glastonbury, CT
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

how do I attach the insullation between studs?


ya...but I cant guarantee he'll be able to figure it out though...
Well, thats what staff is for right?
__________________
Doug Russell

"What if the hokey pokey really IS what its all about."
dougrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 10:31 PM   #12
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how do I attach the insullation between studs?


Right!

yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a step by step for framing basement walls/2x4's wrong direction/stairs??? xray328 Remodeling 27 06-19-2011 09:50 PM
Advice on Enlarging a Door Opening WorkOnIt Carpentry 9 02-04-2007 12:53 PM
sagging floor - attach LVL? tmenting Building & Construction 3 01-30-2007 02:07 PM
nails and staples missed studs in garage dingler44 Building & Construction 1 10-11-2006 12:10 AM
How to line up trusses with studs aero_ub Carpentry 5 04-24-2006 04:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.