DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

How bad/unusual is it for a kitchen sink under window to be off-center?

55K views 17 replies 8 participants last post by  bubbler 
#1 ·
I just had a new kitchen cabinet and counter top installed. I supervised the project but this is my first house and I'm pretty new to these kinds of things.

When the counter top was built, the sink was lined up with the center of the cabinets below instead of with the window above it. There was room for the sink to be moved a few inches in either direction in order to be lined up with the window and still have functioning drawers within the cabinets below. I did not notice that the sink was out of alignment with the window until the counter top was already finished.

It was a very sad and shocking thing to realize after the fact. :(

I am wondering just how awful it is . . . or is this sometimes actually normal - that a kitchen sink under a kitchen window would be several inches too far to one side.

It doesn't look too terrible to me unless I focus a lot of attention on it . . . which I can't help but do. Also, I had this little shelf stand that went over my sink before the remodel which provided some extra space to store soap and other kitchen sink things. When I placed this stand back over the sink, the off-centeredness of the window and the sink became even more obvious. I decided not to use the shelf stand anymore in order to reduce the obviousness of the situation.

Needless to say, but I will say it still, is that I will be supervising much more closely projects that I outsource the labor for in the future. Incidentally, the counter top (which is tile) does look really good.

Feedback, please?

See less See more
#2 ·
it is merely a matter of aesthetics. If it doesn't bother you, it won't bother me.

whose error caused this?

Whoever designed the kitchen should have taken care of this and spec'd the proper cabinets to the sink, cabinet, and window would all line up properly.

#3 ·