How To Add A Heat Register - Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2011, 09:57 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

how to add a heat register


I want to add a heat register to the next room across from the current register How do I go through the wall and extend the furnace duct work?

Advertisement

Joyce H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 12:11 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

how to add a heat register


Can you take some pictures of the areas so we know what you're working with?


I can tell you, I've done it hundreds of times, but I need to see the space, all of it and everywhere, for best advice and results.

Advertisement

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 10:03 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

how to add a heat register


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joyce H View Post
I want to add a heat register to the next room across from the current register How do I go through the wall and extend the furnace duct work?
Cut open a vent sized hole.
Install blocking above the hole and seal it with caulking..
Cut the duct off so the turn into the other room is removed.
Fill in the gaps around the duct going down.
Install the vent louvers.
The hot air will fill the cavity and be pushed out into the 2 rooms.
Not an elegant solution, but one that will work.
__________________
Ron
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
B. Franklin 1759
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Aux heat with American Std HP/Trane AH and Honeywell IAQ FREEZING!!!! JackBP HVAC 3 12-18-2010 03:50 AM
Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!! MichaelG HVAC 22 12-09-2010 05:50 PM
Goodman GPH1336H21AA heat strip connection jrajra HVAC 2 09-02-2010 05:52 PM
Help..Emergency Heat Running All the Time KatieB HVAC 4 02-25-2009 05:55 AM
Testing FuelMaster 21 Module? Heat Pump no Run. thehotrod11 HVAC 3 12-29-2007 03:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts