Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-11-2012, 12:09 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

help - weight restrictions for mobile home

I'm in the beginning stages of remodeling a 1995 double wide that sits on a brick and mortar foundation. I have lots of renovation experience but all on stick built homes.

I'm used to being able to do whatever I want when it comes to bathtubs, tile, hardwood, etc. Suddenly I have people telling me I can't do what I want due to weight restrictions.

Can anyone tell me where to find the load restrictions for this mobile? I have the build plans from the original builder. What info can I glean from the original plans that helps me know the weight restrictions?

The home has sheet rock on the walls and shows no sign of cracking. I feel it's well settled and won't be shifting any time soon.

All advice appreciated.

MzMolly65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 06:47 PM   #2
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 92

The floor structure (or your plans) need to be looked at by an engineer or architect---

There are several members who have those skills---post a picture of the plans,if you can---then someone can tell you the deflection (needed for tile) and general strength of your floor system.

Old 05-11-2012, 07:05 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 198

Every mobile home company has it's own standards. Just no way someone here is going to be able to come up with some general rule of thumb.
Things to look for is things like partical board subfloors, simple to check just remove a floor regester and look.
Tile is all but useless when it comes to a stable floor for tile.
Wall thickness, way to many mobile homes use 2 X 3's or even 2 X 2's for ext. wall studs, I've even seen 1 X 4's used for inside studs and bottom plates. You can make a guess by looking at the jambs of the doors and windows.