Help With Vault Project, Hip Roof - Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-15-2012, 07:03 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Help with Vault Project, Hip Roof

Hello! My name is Brad. I'm new to DIY Chatroom, but have been lurking for months.

My project is a first floor bath renovation.

House details,

built in early 1950's
1200 S.F. Ranch
Full Basement with steal beam.
Hip Roof.
2x10 rafters that run from front to back of the home.

Now my questions for you guys is. I plan to cut out the 2x8 rafters over my bathroom and raise my ceiling up to my roof framing. I plan to drywall the angle of my roof line.

My plan was to cut out the 2x8s that span over the bathroom, I wanted to cut them back 3 inches to place 2 2x12s and box off the area over the bathroom, I would then bolt the 2x12s to my existing 2x10 rafters. and ad a 2x12 flat over the 2x10 rafters to box them all in, while screwing and bolting everywhere I could. I will then frame out with 2x4s to my roof line that is built with 2x8s . The bathroom is 6x8, so I would be removing 6 parts of my existing 2x8 rafters.

Please tell me if you think any of this might work?

I have uploading pictures of my attic area, outside shot of the side of the house with the bathroom, a diagram of my home, and my plan to remove the rafters.

Thanks for your time!
Attached Thumbnails
Help with Vault Project, Hip Roof-img_4015.jpg   Help with Vault Project, Hip Roof-img_4022.jpg   Help with Vault Project, Hip Roof-img_4025.jpg   Help with Vault Project, Hip Roof-img_4020.jpg  
Attached Images

Advertisement

stingrayguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 07:13 PM   #2
Framing Contractor

Rewards Points: 516