Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-19-2008, 08:49 PM   #1
DIY Expert in Training!

Share |

Drywall finishing advice please

Well I am nearing the completion of my 4 month 1/2 bath/laundry room renovation. I have all of the dry wall up and two coats of mud on it. This is my first time doing mud solo so it's been trying. What are the best tips, tricks, methods to finish the mud correctly so it's nice and smooth when I paint. I put a lot of time, effort, blood, money, etc and I want this to be perfect.

Thoughts?

gone_fishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 05:39 PM   #2

I am an amateur taper, also. Although I have done hundreds of feet of taping. So, I hear and feel your concern. I wouldn't worry too much about perfection. Simply do the best job that you can and it will be fine.

Once you have two coats on the joints and nail/screw holes, you should have a fairly smooth surface. The joints should be at least 10" to 12" wide, that is if you used a 6" knife.

I was taught to use the least amount of mud possible; wipe it on, wipe it off. This lessens the necessity for so much sanding. However, you will no doubt want to sand slightly. Don't scuff the adjacent drywall surface too badly.

The final coat will depend on your final product; texture or smooth painted surface. Texturing the surface allows for more imperfections. It can't be sloppy, however. Serious imperfections will definitely show. A smooth finish requires much more patience.

Once I have applied two coats of mud, I usually prime the walls using primer made for new drywall. This will make the imperfections become more visible because the surface is all one color. (I know this will draw fire, but I know 30 year drywall tapers who do this and I do what helps me.) Now, you are ready to apply the final coat of mud.