Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-14-2010, 03:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

do I need to frame my basement insulate with batt insulation?


I searched first, couldn't find the answer to this. Our basement is half-insulated with batt insulation. I wanted to insulate the bottom half with batt insulation but I don't know if I have to (or should) frame the basement.

I read this: http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...ts?full_view=1

It says it's most common to frame the basement and insulate between the studs, but I'm not ready to do this yet. I just wanted to insulate the bottom half before our 2nd energy audit is due in a couple months.

y2chuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 05:26 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

do I need to frame my basement insulate with batt insulation?


if you are not finishing the basement walls you can leave it alone. Do not use the batts you see on the top part for the bottom part. Air flow is different between these areas. Now for the energy issue. The top 2/3represents 70% of the heat loss. the bottom is only 30%. Sealing the rim joists with spray foam (only good method) will yield far greater value and energy savings. If you also want to save more fasten 2" rigid foam boards to the bottom section.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 09:40 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Default

do I need to frame my basement insulate with batt insulation?


I agree: http://www.quadlock.com/technical_li...Insulation.pdf

Be safe, Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 08:13 AM   #4
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Default

do I need to frame my basement insulate with batt insulation?


As stated: Use ridgid foam board. Use multiple layers to build up to the R-Value needed/thickness of walls. Use spray foam to seal edges and gaps.
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insulating Basement w/ Rigid Foam and Batt Reilley Building & Construction 4 08-03-2013 10:07 PM
Same old Question basement Insulation advice rp92285 Building & Construction 2 02-05-2010 11:01 AM
Beginning to plan finishing basement - insulation question ternstes Building & Construction 6 04-28-2009 09:47 PM
basement insulation questions CooperChloe Building & Construction 3 02-03-2009 07:54 AM
Basement Insulation Questions? BobR General DIY Discussions 1 09-30-2008 09:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.