Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2014, 12:30 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fountain Valley, CA 92708 (orange county)
Posts: 648
Share |
Default

Did I need permits for this remodel


A couple of years ago I remodeled our kitchen and bath. This involved straightening out walls, installing tile, replacing cabinets and fixtures. I did not alter the electrical system (although I wish I had updated it) and I reused the old water valves and drains.
Would this have required any permits? I had an electrician who wanted to update the kitchen wiring, by adding a wire for the stove fan and an additional couple of sockets. If I had allowed him to do it, how long would the permit process have delayed the work (it took me forever to finish).

darsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 04:10 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,781
Default

Did I need permits for this remodel


Little late now to be asking.
All up to your local building dept. if you need a permit or not.

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 04:29 PM   #3
Member
 
Gymschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Eastern Ohio (heart of Appalachia)
Posts: 2,668
Default

Did I need permits for this remodel


Every area is different. Where I live, you do not need permits at all. Up the road in the next city, you need permits for everything.
Gymschu is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gymschu For This Useful Post:
Startingover (05-04-2014)
Old 04-01-2014, 10:29 AM   #4
Mold!! Let's kill it!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,833
Default

Did I need permits for this remodel


In my area, you can do whatever you want as long as you are not modifying a load bearing wall or the structure of the roof. No restrictions on plumbing or electrical. An addition to the footprint of an occupied building requires a permit as does a deck 30" or more above grade. New buildings that are occupied as dwellings or any building over 1000 square feet need zoning permits and building permits. Then all inspections are required, including electrical and plumbing. It's all in what your municipality requires.
Maintenance 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 11:10 AM   #5
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,813
Default

Did I need permits for this remodel


If you didn't open up any walls or modify any electrical or plumbing, then you should be ok...but then again, Fountain Valley might be one of 'those' cities.

One of your issues is going to be if you decide to sell and want to say you remodeled the kitchen....if the buyer is savvy...they go down to city hall to see if you pulled permits....if no permit...they use that fact as a bargaining point...or walk away....with you hoping they don't report it.

Believe it or not, it's ok to call your building and safety. Just ask them if you need permits as if your 'going' to do the work....don't say you already did.

As for permits.....if it's anything like my area....you walk in...maybe stand in line a few min....walk up to the guy....tell him you want to add some outlets...he says "Fill this out"...you fill it out...hand it to him....he goes to his computer...comes back a couple of min later and says "That will be $75" (or what ever their fee is)...you write a check...he hands you the permit and a sign off sheet...

When your done with the electrical work....you call them to schedule an inspection....if not the same day it's usually the next day....inspector comes to look at it...if no issues he signs off....have a nice day.

It's actually pretty painless.

I'm doing a whole 2-story addition to my house and I think my electrical permit costs was something like $180 total....I think all told....including plan check fee...I was around $2000.....and that is adding over 1000 sq feet to my house.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 08:33 PM   #6
Mold!! Let's kill it!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,833
Default

Did I need permits for this remodel


I feel bad for some of you guys. You can't even fart without a permit.
Maintenance 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Maintenance 6 For This Useful Post:
curtd (05-02-2014), Fix'n it (05-03-2014)
Old 05-02-2014, 02:46 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: connecticut
Posts: 108
Send a message via Yahoo to curtd
Default

Did I need permits for this remodel


Farting is never permitted in our area.
curtd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 11:32 AM   #8
Solutions (handyman)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Central Alberta Canada
Posts: 332
Default

Did I need permits for this remodel


As noted, it depends on where you live. Simply call your local county office/building inspector to get a the information. The permits are to ensure you know what you are doing and, if the job is not done properly, insurance may become void in the event of a fire or other critical event.
Mark Harvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 01:51 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 727
Default

Did I need permits for this remodel


The electrical permit probably would have been over the counter
Anti-wingnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 06:05 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,252
Default

Did I need permits for this remodel


before you fart in my area you need to be properly vented
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
jmon (05-08-2014), Maintenance 6 (05-13-2014), oh'mike (05-04-2014)
Old 05-13-2014, 06:40 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 9
Default

Did I need permits for this remodel


building septs always want permits for everything. I removed some old pot lights and put new low energy ones in and needed a permit... they want their $$

blur1221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone real familiar with Halo IC 6" Remodel housing? zr800 Electrical 3 01-14-2014 12:01 PM
Do I really need permits? mirzai_m Building & Construction 20 01-09-2014 01:21 PM
Remodel vs. repair bathroom slab on grade JCTeacher Plumbing 3 04-15-2012 05:54 AM
Estimate for plans + permits + sub-foundation stuff + foundation? shinyhalo Building & Construction 5 10-07-2011 08:29 PM
Help ... permits joyjoy Remodeling 2 11-26-2010 06:30 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.