Did I Drill Too Deep? - Remodeling - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2012, 03:32 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Did I drill too deep?


I would like to see the code where it says to use pressure treated wood inside a home. I have never in all my years heard of it. If you are referring to bluwood,that is something else. Bluwood is a two part, preconstruction wood protection system. The lumber has a film on it that helps prevent moister from seaping into the wood and also protects against fungus and wood eating insects.

Advertisement

fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 03:33 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Did I drill too deep?


When wood is used as a sill plate the use of sill foam is ....according to code....to be used. Correct me if I am wrong here.
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 03:41 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,815
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Did I drill too deep?


The new pressure treated wood is treated with copper, so unless you ate it, lapped it or got it in a wound there is no danger from it once it's sealed in a wall.
Since your basment is dry and I think you said you used tar paper under it you may get away with it. But in some cases the dry wood soaks up moisture like a sponge and rots out when it comes in contact with the acidic chemiclas in concrete.
If I had of ever heard that conversation with a customer I would have gone screaming for the manager.
It shocks me sometimes when people on here tell us some of the misinformation they have been given at the box stores.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 04:07 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Did I drill too deep?


I think this is why I do not use it.
http://www.cmhc-schl.gc.ca/odpub/pdf/65891.pdf
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to fixrite For This Useful Post:
harvest (02-16-2012)
Old 02-16-2012, 04:23 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,815
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Did I drill too deep?


Canadian and US codes must be differant. Any slab foundation home has to have pressure treated wood used as a bottom plate, as well as any basement bottom plates.
Even a garage would have pressure treated as a bottom plate.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 04:53 PM   #21
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,829
Rewards Points: 2,146
Default

Did I drill too deep?


Just a note - there are no acidic materials in water around concrete since concrete is an alkaline material that neutraliazes the the acids from the wood treatment and other materials. Just make sure to use the proper nails or connectors that must be used to resist the corrosion from the wood treatment chemicals.

Dick
concretemasonry is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to concretemasonry For This Useful Post:
harvest (02-16-2012)
Old 02-16-2012, 07:04 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Did I drill too deep?


Thank you all for your comments and advice. Since I have gone too far to make any change on what I have already done, I would ask: Do I need outdors plywood for my floor? Should the underlayment put between plywood and laminated floor be a vapor barier as well? According to the Home Depot guy: no!
harvest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 07:44 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Did I drill too deep?


On your subfloor you should be using 3/4" t&g ply. You should also be using PL Premium on your joists under your ply to glue it to the floor joists as well. Your ply should be attached using 2" screws into the floor joists to guard against warpage and squeaks. You do not need to use exterior grade ply.
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to fixrite For This Useful Post:
harvest (02-17-2012)
Old 02-17-2012, 04:15 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 500
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Did I drill too deep?


Typically a sill gasket (comes in a foam roll) is used under bottom plates on concrete, that's what I do. Others use PT wood (for the bottom plates only), however I don't see it done this way often around here.

For your flooring, check the manufacturers instructions, some require an underlay, some don't.

Last edited by chrisBC; 02-17-2012 at 04:18 AM.
chrisBC is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to chrisBC For This Useful Post:
harvest (02-17-2012)
Old 02-18-2012, 04:49 AM   #25
Thread killer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southwestern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 304
Rewards Points: 268
Default

Did I drill too deep?


Quote:
Originally Posted by fixrite View Post
I think this is why I do not use it.
http://www.cmhc-schl.gc.ca/odpub/pdf/65891.pdf
Not to start a fight, but they found less than 5% of the tolerable limit for arsenic in the air of the worst house. How is that a danger I need to worry about?
Canucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 07:01 AM   #26
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,357
Rewards Points: 3,350
Default

Did I drill too deep?


Code in this area call for pressure treated wood for sill plates and bottom plates when in contact with concrete----

That's been code for over 25 years,here.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (02-18-2012), drtbk4ever (12-11-2013)
Old 02-21-2012, 02:18 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 113
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Did I drill too deep?


To fasten bottom plates for my interior walls to the concrete slab, I drilled holes through the wood and into the concrete that were just big enough for a 16d nail to drop right in and out with ease. I then used construction adhesive on the plate and stuck it to the floor, followed by driving two 16d nails through the hole in the wood and into the hole in the concrete. I drove the nails in at the same time, so they are in effect "wedged" in place. That by itself is probably enough to keep the plate in place forever, but with the addition of the construction adhesive...well, lets just say I hope I don't ever have a reason to try and pull the plates up.

Advertisement

JeepNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Porter-Cable or Craftsman Drill Dilema cprice12 Tools 19 02-16-2012 08:00 PM
hammer drill vs. rotory hammer, my results. forresth Tools 3 09-15-2011 10:08 PM
7" Tapcon drill bit wobbles?? ARuby Tools 6 08-17-2011 10:53 AM
Broken caliper bolt chrissyb Automotive Repairs 12 12-28-2009 04:18 PM
Rookie needs advice - How to remove old thinset from concrete floor? rookie floor layer Flooring 9 10-04-2009 01:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts