Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-15-2012, 02:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

Did I drill too deep?


I am re-modelling by basement and first step I took was to nail 2x4 on the basement's concrete floor. I tried tapcons, but because I found it hard to put into concrete I ended up using concrete nails (3" long) for almost 90% of the floor. Put a nail in every foot or so. When I was drilling a hole, I went 2" sometimes up to 3" deep into my basement floor and in some areas the drill went down real easy. Sometimes it was near walls, but more often where my basement was not leveled...It was like there was concrete for 1" or so and after that just air, empty space...I put a thinner longer nail in one of these holes to make sure that there was no mud underneath and did not find any sign of mud...Did I drill too deep? If yes, what are the negative effects of it? Anything that can be done now? I put felt paper before placing 2x4s on the floor.

My house is from 1950!

Thanks in advance for your comments!


Last edited by harvest; 02-15-2012 at 02:25 PM.
harvest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 02:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,785
Default

Did I drill too deep?


Who knows how thick that slab is or how it was pored.
Ever had water coming in that basement around the bottom of the walls before?

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
harvest (02-15-2012)
Old 02-15-2012, 02:37 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Did I drill too deep?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Who knows how thick that slab is or how it was pored.
Ever had water coming in that basement around the bottom of the walls before?
No! The walls look fine, no water coming in, no cracks or anything. Floor as well used to look good. What worries me is those holes with emptiness...The drill was going down so easy, not drilling anything, just falling down...
Thanks joe for your quick reply!
harvest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 02:48 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,785
Default

Did I drill too deep?


Not going to be a big deal. The 2 X's spead out the load.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 03:09 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 492
Default

Did I drill too deep?


Ramset, baby.

I spent too long drilling and using Tapcons. $30 got me the base Ramset and a box of nails and screws. Works like a charm. Not that that does the OP any good, just a product advertisement.

B
Beepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 03:18 PM   #6
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,139
Default

Did I drill too deep?


I am a bit confused. You said you started out using Tapcons, but they did not work, so you switched to concrete nails. Why were you drilling holes for concrete nails?
Daniel Holzman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 06:13 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Did I drill too deep?


Well, how could I insert a nail into concrete without drilling a hole first? I tried ramset as well, but since the concrete was too hard, ramset nails could penetrate very little the concrete. Tapcons were ok, but some of them won't get totally in to concrete (dust or shorter holes probably), so I ended up with concrete nails. It took me like 2 full days to drill holes in 425sq feet basement, but at least, I have stable 2x4s on concrete...I hope I haven't messed anything with so many holes and most of them a little deeper than they were supposed to be.
harvest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 08:13 PM   #8
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,139
Default

Did I drill too deep?


OK, concrete nails by definition are supposed to be driven into concrete using a hammer. If the concrete is too hard to drive the concrete nail, then they should not be used. If your Ramset was not working, you might have had too low a charge. As I recall from my days using a Ramset, there was a .22 Ramset, not real good for hard concrete, and a .38 Ramset. As I recall, there were various loads for the .38, I believe the purple was a large charge, and when we used the .38 with the heavy charge and an appropriate nail, you could drive it into the hardest concrete on earth. I can't quite understand how the nails hold if you drilled a hole, I guess it is like predrilling for a wood screw, but this is the first I have ever heard of it being done.
Daniel Holzman is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Daniel Holzman For This Useful Post:
harvest (02-15-2012), mae-ling (02-16-2012)
Old 02-15-2012, 08:52 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Did I drill too deep?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Holzman View Post
OK, concrete nails by definition are supposed to be driven into concrete using a hammer. If the concrete is too hard to drive the concrete nail, then they should not be used. If your Ramset was not working, you might have had too low a charge. As I recall from my days using a Ramset, there was a .22 Ramset, not real good for hard concrete, and a .38 Ramset. As I recall, there were various loads for the .38, I believe the purple was a large charge, and when we used the .38 with the heavy charge and an appropriate nail, you could drive it into the hardest concrete on earth. I can't quite understand how the nails hold if you drilled a hole, I guess it is like predrilling for a wood screw, but this is the first I have ever heard of it being done.
I tried a ramset .022 with the biggest load possible (yellow) and it did not work. I drilled holes in concrete using bits of 5/32 inches, while nail diameter was 3/16". Probably, as you are saying, I should have tried a .38 ramset, but I got discouraged of that first experience with .22...Now you are making me wonder if those nails will ever keep 2x4s fixed into concrete for a long time Any comment?
harvest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 08:59 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,256
Default

Did I drill too deep?


hilty dx351 mean machine will shoot into 3/4" steel beam...and even the hardest concrete
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 08:40 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,040
Default

Did I drill too deep?


If your concerned use PLpremium or similar product to 'glue' them down as well.
mae-ling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 09:21 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,866
Default

Did I drill too deep?


Please tell us the 2x4s are pressure treated. Otherwise, you've done a heck of a lot of work for nothing.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to md2lgyk For This Useful Post:
harvest (02-16-2012)
Old 02-16-2012, 10:09 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Default

Did I drill too deep?


don't use pressure treated in doors
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 01:17 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Did I drill too deep?


First, I almost missed the importance of pressure treated wood, but reading more about its use I decided to go with regular heat treated wood...The guy at Home Depot explained that once in contact with humidity the pressure treated wood can be dangerous because of the chemicals used during its processing. I know that there are pros and cons for each, but why would you say that that work was done for nothing if no pressure treated wood been used?
harvest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 01:32 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 492
Default

Did I drill too deep?


Quote:
Originally Posted by harvest View Post
...The guy at Home Depot explained
Your first problem was listening to him.

There is a reason most if not all codes call for pt boards in contact with the floor.

B

Beepster is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Beepster For This Useful Post:
drtbk4ever (12-11-2013), harvest (02-16-2012), oh'mike (02-18-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Porter-Cable or Craftsman Drill Dilema cprice12 Tools 19 02-16-2012 07:00 PM
hammer drill vs. rotory hammer, my results. forresth Tools 3 09-15-2011 09:08 PM
7" Tapcon drill bit wobbles?? ARuby Tools 6 08-17-2011 09:53 AM
Broken caliper bolt chrissyb Automotive Repairs 12 12-28-2009 03:18 PM
Rookie needs advice - How to remove old thinset from concrete floor? rookie floor layer Flooring 9 10-04-2009 12:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.