DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Control Dust in Basement Remodel

8K views 4 replies 5 participants last post by  teachtech 
#1 ·
Hi...newbie here. I'm going to start an 1100 sq. ft. basement finish in our new condo real soon. Is totally unfinished at this time.

I'm going to seal off access to the upstairs with a temporary door to avoid dust upstairs.

There are what appear to be a couple cold air returns in the basement that I figure will suck in dust and distribute it throughout my house (I'm in Michigan and it's cold out, so the furnace will be operating during my project).

My first thought is to tape a furnace filter over the cold air returns to avoid dust intake (sawdust and drywall dust).

Also plan to hook my chop saw to a shop vac. Ditto for sanders. When I get to the drywall, I can hook my sander to a shop vac and put a box fan in a basement window to exhaust.

With all that said, does anyone have any other tips for keeping the dust out of the upstairs or does that about cover it? Thanks.

#2 ·
The only thing I'd suggest here is to make sure the furnace filters you use are high filtration, and maybe use 2 filters on each intake. And check them often, if you've got that much airflow through there. I'd imagine they'll need changing or cleaning frequently.

#3 · (Edited)