Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-02-2012, 01:19 PM   #1

Share |

Cement Countertops

I want to redo my countertops I'm on a low budgets to do it with so I was thinking cement countertops. I have seen them before and thought they looked cool but the problem is I have never done it before and don't know what I'll need to make them. What is this best cement to use and how do I make the molding of a countertop and what's it called to mix with the cement to give it color. Any help on this matter would be helpful THANK YOU.

Waylon80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 01:30 PM   #2
Not so new

Cement Countertops

Do a google search. Lots of info.

12penny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 03:33 PM   #3
Tileguy

Cement Countertops

Home centers now sell cement products labeled for counter tops and they have all of the instructions and accessories you need.
Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 04:50 PM   #4
Civil Engineer

Cement Countertops

You are probably talking about concrete countertops. Cement is the binding agent used in concrete, if you made a countertop out of pure cement it would not work well. Google concrete countertop for more information.

My brother became quite good at making concrete countertops. It is actually quite difficult to get a really nice finish, lots of practice required. The first few are not likely to turn out well, unless you find someone with experience to help you. You also should check out some actual examples, you can get a wide variety of appearances and textures depending on what goes into the concrete, and the finishing technique.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 08:15 PM   #5

Cement Countertops