Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-10-2011, 05:38 PM   #1

Share |
Question

Buying a house to flip

Hi, I'm a newbie on all of this, but have lots of friends to help me flip my first home for a profit. The question I have is how do you decide how much to pay for a house that needs to be renovated from an insurance claim that basically will involve replacing the kitchen, bathroom and hardwood floors throughout the house.

The homeowners will not be sharing the insurance settlement. They say they just need to let go of it. Real estate in the neighborhood goes for 90-125,000. So, how much should I offer to bring it up to habitable grade and still make money on my "flip"?

etobia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 08:21 PM   #2

Buying a house to flip

Let's see, pay as little as possible, the do as little as possible to rip off the person who eventually buys the property ?

tribe_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 08:34 PM   #3
Full time DIY

Buying a house to flip

Honestly, if you are asking, this is probably an endeavor you should not be getting in to. That said, you need to make your money with your purchase price, usually at least 30% below market value. You also have to consider what it's going to cost you in real estate fees and capital gains tax on the sale to determine if it's even worth while. Additionally, in order to get top dollar you have to have good quality finishings, if you can't provide that, you won't make your money.
G-Mo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to G-Mo For This Useful Post:
etobia (06-11-2011)
Old 06-10-2011, 10:49 PM   #4

Buying a house to flip

Virgin flipper in a dead real estate market. What could go wrong?
Where is this property?
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:12 PM   #5
Tileguy

Buying a house to flip

Quote: