Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-08-2012, 07:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
mrtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Basement insulation and DRIcore


Hello everyone,

I am new to this forum but have been reading it constantly for information on finishing my basement.

I have decided to put rigid foam on the concrete walls with DRIcore floors. It is easier for me and recommended by the manufacturer to build the walls on top of the DRIcore. I will the insulate between the studs with fiberglass insulation. My question is does this defeat the purpose of blocking the walls with rigid foam? You need a 1/4" gap between the walls and DRIcore. Does it matter the the gap for air flow will be behind the walls? The cold air from the concrete would come out and mix with the warm air of the room. I made a pic to try and describe what I'm talking about. Does this matter? I'm thinking it's the same scenario either way you do it.

I realize I spelt basement wrong in the subject, sorry I don't think I can edit it now. If this is in the wrong section for this topic I apologize, this is my first post.



Basement insulation and DRIcore-image-3964097135.jpg


Last edited by mrtn; 09-08-2012 at 07:09 PM.
mrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 07:25 PM   #2
Bombastic Idiot
 
notmrjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesquite, Texas
Posts: 761
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Basement insulation and DRIcore


You need unfaced insulation between the suds, it will stop cold air from floor.The foam on walls is a vapor barrier. An empty air space between wall foam and back of insulation.Install the floor way manufacturer says, almost to the foam. You don't want to trap moisture under the floor. "I made a pic to try and describe what I'm talking about. Does this matter?" Does it ever! Half the responses to questions are "Do you have a picture or drawing?" I know. That's not what you meant. Excellent first post, when you make more, you'll get used to me, or have found the ignore button.

__________________
Measure twice, cut once.
Look at the nail, not the hammer. Watch the fence, not the blade.
If you hook your thumb over your belt you won't hit it with the hammer or leave it layin on the saw table.
notmrjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 07:33 PM   #3
Newbie
 
mrtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Basement insulation and DRIcore


Lol thank you, very helpful! Every time I visit this site I get a little more confident on how to get this project started.
mrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 12:01 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Basement insulation and DRIcore


"I have decided to put rigid foam on the concrete walls with DRIcore floors. It is easier for me and recommended by the manufacturer to build the walls on top of the DRIcore. I will the insulate between the studs with fiberglass insulation."-----

Fiberglass insulation is very air permeable (goes right through it), hence the reason why furnace filters are made from it.

"My question is does this defeat the purpose of blocking the walls with rigid foam?"----

Yes, if air from the room/under floor gets to the concrete wall, your air barrier (foam board) is compromised.

"You need a 1/4" gap between the walls and DRIcore."---

DriCore falls short here, no air gap to room/wall cavity; Fig.#3: http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...ms?full_view=1

Delta FL has it together, read paragraph #8 (air gap at perimeter); http://www.cosella-dorken.com/bvf-ca...roducts/fl.php

"Does it matter the the gap for air flow will be behind the walls? The cold air from the concrete would come out and mix with the warm air of the room. I made a pic to try and describe what I'm talking about. Does this matter? I'm thinking it's the same scenario either way you do it"----

Imperative that no room air gets to the concrete; page #11- middle paragraph; http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...lation-systems

Why bring extra moist air from the slab to the wall cavity to rot the wood framing and mold the drywall backing paper?

Here is a current similar thread: finishing a basement - advice needed

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Gary in WA For This Useful Post:
AtlanticWBConst. (09-09-2012), mae-ling (09-09-2012)
Old 09-09-2012, 06:46 AM   #5
Newbie
 
mrtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Basement insulation and DRIcore


Thank you. This is the problem with this sort of thing.everyone seems to have a different opinion on how to do things and once again I'm unsure how to do it. I went looking for Delta-fl and was told that it was taken out of production. Don't know why.

It is my understanding that the air gap is necessary to keep air flow so water does not form. I don't have water issues in my basement at all, but wanted to be safe. There will be no gap in the foam on the wall, but the gaps on the floor, as in my diagram from the first post.


Name:  image-3598422083.jpg
Views: 624
Size:  38.8 KB

dricore even says to cut vents at the perimeter walls to increase airflow. It seems that delta-Fl and DRIcore have opposite ways of thinking and this causes confusion. However DRIcore has been out for a while and continues to be used, delta fl is no longer available... Is it a matter of lack of consumer knowledge and marketing dynamics, or is it infact an inferior product. I see all the home improvement shows using DRIcore but that could just be a case of paying for product placement?
mrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 07:21 AM   #6
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Basement insulation and DRIcore


Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtn View Post
.....I went looking for Delta-fl and was told that it was taken out of production. Don't know why.....
Found this link: http://www.cosella-dorken.com/bvf-ca..._usa.php?id=NY

FWIW - I just don't trust verbally passed-on information, as it is generally not very reliable.
I prefer to contact manufacturers directly, especially when it comes to gathering accurate technical information & material data.
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 03:47 PM   #7
Newbie
 
mrtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Basement insulation and DRIcore


Thanks, I just took the guys word as I cannot find it at any store listed. I asked at lowes and they are the ones who told me that it was discontinued. I also live in Canada if that helps. Maybe just discontinued here. I'll contact them to get a final word.
mrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 03:51 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,055
Rewards Points: 1,030
Default

Basement insulation and DRIcore


Excellent drawing!!!!!! Thanks.

Why not do it the second way?
mae-ling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 04:00 PM   #9
Newbie
 
mrtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Basement insulation and DRIcore


Because it is recommended by the manufacturer and will eliminate the issue of the wood contacting concrete and code here says no pt wood in the house, not that I want it anyway due to the chemicals.
mrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mrtn For This Useful Post:
mae-ling (09-09-2012)
Old 09-09-2012, 09:41 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Basement insulation and DRIcore


Just add a foam board bottom plate under the wood one, 1/4" higher than the Dricore, canned-foam seal it to wall f.b. and Dricore. Or just forget the Dricore and use rigid foam board under plywood and/or wood sleepers.

The dimpled material creates an air space which matches the moisture drive pressure of the concrete slab. The air space should not be allowed to exchange moisture with the room air. In the diagram Fig. 3, notice words like; Dimpled sheet membrane- air tight and gas tight, and below= Vapor pressure equalization--- and - airspace pressure tracks the vapor pressure of the slab---- not if the perimeter is able to relieve the moisture/pressure to the room air, and vice/verse when the HVAC kicks in, increasing the RH there, by tenfold or more. http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...ms?full_view=1

Think of foamboard on a wall (main purpose is an air barrier), only now its on the side= slab. No air transfer from slab to room, no transfer from room to slab, this is basic building science; eg.; computer pp.2, #3; http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...g-your-basment

If air gets behind the foamboard from the basement, the RH will copy exactly; you want to keep all basement air from the concrete, Wall#3, page9-14 here, XPS did well; http://www.eceee.org/conference_proc..._1/p1_27/paper

Or just forget the Dricore and use rigid foam board under plywood and/or wood sleepers. I'd rather not have an engineered wood in a basement that could have water leaks from mechanicals (washer, plumbing lines, etc.).

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gary in WA For This Useful Post:
mae-ling (09-09-2012)
Old 09-10-2012, 08:14 PM   #11
Newbie
 
mrtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Basement insulation and DRIcore


What if I just forgot DRIcore and just put laminate down? With the foam underpad? 3 contractors I spoke to recommended doing that...
mrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 09:16 PM   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Basement insulation and DRIcore


http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/archi.../t-676110.html Both pages...

Do you know if there is a plastic vapor barrier under the slab; http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...059-slab-happy

If not, have you checked for water present or live in a radon area: http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...g-your-basment

Gary

__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement bath framing question. oba97 Building & Construction 2 02-02-2012 12:58 PM
Basement Floor-Dricore or Delta FL? cowbell9 Remodeling 5 01-27-2012 10:11 PM
Considerations for mold free finished basement in Massachusetts? Ekc General DIY Discussions 3 09-23-2011 09:22 PM
Options for Cold Basement Concrete Floor? jefferis Flooring 16 12-09-2009 12:23 PM
basement bathroom rough in - framing questions twobabieslater Building & Construction 2 12-29-2008 02:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.