DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Applying joint compound to corners

8K views 15 replies 10 participants last post by  Handyman50 
#1 ·
I am remodeling the bathroom and the ceiling-wall corners needed to be scraped, retaped, and smoothed out with compound/spackle. (they were cracking). I am also using the mesh type drywall tape.

I am a novice at best with drywall and applying compound. Anyone have reccomendations on which brand and type of joint compound to use. The sheetrock brand seems most popular, however I noticed there are blue and green label containers. I used the dry mix in the past as well.

Also, should I buy a corner tool for spreading the "mud", or use a large flat knife when spreading. All suggestions on applying the mud and finishing the surface are welcome.

#2 ·
You don't have to use mesh tape in corners. I have seen metal angle brackets with paper already embedded for corners with drywall. Your choice though but it might be helpful getting a good corner. I would also recommend getting a corner tool (official name?) I've found it to be helpful getting the first coating of compound on the wall. Then use a large flat knife for subsequent coats. I'm not a pro though so take my advice with a grain of salt.

#4 ·
I am taping my basement reno right now and I am using the regular paper tape, and the all purpose drywall compound, that is thinned out with water as it is too thick to apply on it's own.

I apply the compound with a 4 inch knife approx 4 -5 inches on each side and give it a good swipe, and repeat 2 more times, making each subsequent coat wider than the last and feather it out.

I have been able to get really nice corners with paper tape. I have never used the mesh tape, but I hear it is not easy to work with.

Good luck.

You will become a "pro" in no time. :thumbsup:

#5 ·