Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2011, 05:28 PM   #1
Repairitplus
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tucsonn Az.
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

adobe brick and anchors


whats the best way to anchor an exposed wooden window sill into the existing adobe wall?

kirk.rote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 05:38 PM   #2
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,606
Default

adobe brick and anchors


Inside the house or outside?

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 05:41 PM   #3
Repairitplus
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tucsonn Az.
Posts: 3
Default

adobe brick and anchors


Inside the house. I want to install oak window sills, but Im concerned with how to anchor them down securly
kirk.rote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 05:46 PM   #4
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,748
Default

adobe brick and anchors


kirk -

You failed to give your location since that could help identify what the "adobe brick" is.

It could be a traditional mud brick/block or it could be a more modern "adobe stone"/"slump block" that is actually a concrete block.

Dick

Dick
concretemasonry is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to concretemasonry For This Useful Post:
kirk.rote (09-02-2011)
Old 09-02-2011, 06:56 AM   #5
Repairitplus
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tucsonn Az.
Posts: 3
Default

adobe brick and anchors


I'm still trying to figure out how to input info on "about me", but if it helps, I live in Tucson, Arizona. The structure I'm working on is probably at least 50 years old plus. I'm concerned about installing new wooden sills @ the windows, and making them secure as possible without causeing damage and more work for myself. "The adobe is traditional mud brick"
kirk.rote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 10:35 AM   #6
Stuck in the 70's
 
Blondesense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: south central Missouri
Posts: 2,143
Default

adobe brick and anchors


Quote:
Originally Posted by kirk.rote View Post
I'm still trying to figure out how to input info on "about me", but if it helps, I live in Tucson, Arizona... The structure I'm working on is probably at least 50 years old plus. I'm concerned about installing new wooden sills @ the windows, and making them secure as possible without causeing damage and more work for myself. "The adobe is traditional mud brick"
Don't know about your main question, but if you go to the UserCP button on the dark bar, and follow it to "Edit your details", scroll down, then you can add your location.

Blondesense is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Blondesense For This Useful Post:
kirk.rote (09-02-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capping a brick parapet wall jrschenck Roofing/Siding 2 08-21-2011 11:22 AM
Fasten anchors into the brick or the mortar? spaceman spif Building & Construction 12 08-02-2011 08:08 AM
Floor joist hangers for brick - 100 y/o Row House pleasantplainer Remodeling 1 07-27-2011 01:50 PM
Need your suggestions on mounting a flag bracket to brick brich General DIY Discussions 2 05-29-2010 02:48 PM
Anchors & Brick Veneer rjordan392 Building & Construction 9 06-04-2009 04:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.