Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-29-2012, 09:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Adding a room in a pole barn


We just moved into our new house and I had a 60 x 40 pole barn built in the back. It is on aconcrete slab and I am going to turn half of it into my man cave. My questions is that when I go into frame my walls should I frame away from the poles as you would in a basement or tie it into the frame of the barn? The poles are perfectly plumb, but i may have an issue with the bracing as they are not flush with the poles. I worry about any settiling that may occur in the main frame of the barn. This is the Houston,TX Thanks,


Last edited by BHargrave; 02-29-2012 at 10:07 PM.
BHargrave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 09:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,317
Default

Adding a room in a pole barn


You need to go back and edit so we know where you live for better ansewers.
How to you plan on heating and cooling this?
How high are the ceilings inside the building?
How big are you going to make it?
Here's my first thought. Build it sort of like a completly separate building with 2 X 6 walls, and a flat roof inside the barn. Picture a shed. This way there will be no rising cold or moisture issues from the slab, could be insulated top bottom and sides.
Use 2 X 10's for the roof rafters and lay Advantec subflooring over the roof. Add some stairs to the side and you have added storage area.
Depending on how big it is you could add a Mini Splt HVAC system so the compressor can be set outside and you would have heat and cooling with one unit that uses very little power.


Last edited by joecaption; 02-29-2012 at 10:00 PM.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 10:20 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Adding a room in a pole barn


it is 13'3 fro slab to truss. it will be 30 x 30 overall dimension. i will frame out a bathromm and 2 spare bedrooms in the back of the space. It will have HVAC, but I have not made it that far yet. i already had my builder add septic and water to the slab so I am that far ahead. why 2x6's and not 2x4 framing?
BHargrave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 10:23 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,317
Default

Adding a room in a pole barn


I thought you were just building a small club house type thing.
2 X 6's so you can fit more insulation in the walls. R-19 instead of R-13. It will save you money in the long run to heat and cool.
http://www.energystar.gov/index.cfm?...sulation_table
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 10:33 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Adding a room in a pole barn


thanks joe. i will take that into consideration.
BHargrave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a wall vent connected to utility room exhaust findlay70 HVAC 0 02-23-2012 11:29 AM
16' lean on a 36 X 45 pole barn dakzaag Building & Construction 10 12-03-2009 03:06 PM
Adding Flex Duct to Bonus Room breich HVAC 4 08-28-2009 10:16 PM
Pole Barn Materials? JACC0811 Building & Construction 3 03-22-2009 10:29 PM
Raising Doorway Height (load bearing?) treefrog Building & Construction 6 02-25-2008 09:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.