Wood Countertops - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-01-2012, 11:18 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

wood countertops

Hello all ,

I'm in the process of renovating a house that we plan to rent out. I've never done this before but so far I have managed to figure it out along the way(thanfully). In the kitchen I am at the point where Im ready to install these wooden countertops. I was wondering if anyone could suggest the best way to finish/protect them? I believe they are an "exotic" wood. The name of the wood was acai..? I purchased them at a local salvage/importer type store and cut them to fit. I bought a pour on epoxy glaze coat, two different ones actually. one is from Rustoleum and one is Famowood. My plan was to use one of these but upon doing research on them I've read mixed reviews. Any suggestions from my trusted DIY chatroom would be greatly appreciated.
wood countertops-rental-kitchen-2.jpg

SIDE QUESTION: anyone know where I can find a bottom bake element for this stove? Its a Hotpoint model 208RH171. I've seen some on ebay that look like they may work but they dont specify that particular model number. I emailed the person selling them that stated they could look it up. They replied back saying they could not find anything in the catalog on this model and that i would have to go by specs, which I will if I have to but I thought I would run it past you guys first.
wood countertops-rental-kitchen.jpg

Thank you, Brandy

Advertisement

baandla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 03:52 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 606

wood countertops

http://www.repairclinic.com/Shop-For...08RH171-%3d%3d

IF YOU TRY AND USE A SEALER INSTEAD OF AN OIL ON THOSE COUNTER TOPS i CAN SEE THAT BECOMING A BIG MAINTAINCE ISSUE.
http://www.bing.com/search?q=CUTTING...sp=-1&qs=n&sk=

Advertisement