Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-19-2006, 02:17 PM   #1

Share |

Wood to Concrete without Drilling

Hi everyone. I'm a complete beginner, both to this forum and to any sort of construction. I'm trying to do something that I thought would be simple but is actually turning out to be rather difficult. I'm trying to set up a bit of a garden on my balcony (I'm in an apartment complex) and I wanted to make 2 large trellises for things that need to climb. I bought two 4x8 sheets of wood lattice, as the balcony is 8 feet from floor to ceiling. I also bought 4' long pieces of 1.5"x1.5" pressure treated wood. I was going to use construction adhesive to attach these pieces of wood to the corners where the floor and the wall meet, and where the ceiling and the wall meet, and then attach the lattice upright to those pieces of wood. I can't use any other method of attaching the wood because A) I don't have a concrete drill, and B) I'm not allowed to make holes in the walls. So, anyway, I figured this would work, but there are some problems. The wood that was going to be glued to the concrete is a bit twisted, not enough to really be noticeable but enough to prevent it from getting very good contact with the conrete to form a seal for the glue. Second, even though the adhesive I bought says it bonds within several minutes, when I try to do the upper piece it falls down several minutes after I let go, no matter how long I seem to hold it firmly in place to let it bond. This is probably because of what I said a moment ago, about not getting a very good seal. So, I'm going to try to find more perfectly straight wood to use, which should solve the problem for the bottom piece, but as for the top piece - any ideas of a simple way I could brace it while it sets, to prevent it from falling down? Or any other ideas? Any help would be great, thanks!