Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-27-2011, 10:49 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Wall Mounted Table

Hello Forums!

I am a studio musician currently looking to build a wall-mounted table/desk. I have a few questions to ask in this regard. Let me provide some details.

It's a big table - 96 Inches (8 Feet) by 30 Inches (2.5 Feet).
I really want it to be legless so that my studio looks less cluttered. But will put up with legs if I have to.
It will have access to 6 studs.
Depth / weight of the wood is to be decided
There cannot be a leg in the middle so I can wheel from one-side to the other.
There will be 28 - 29 inches of clearance off the ground.
There may be up to 120 pounds of gear on the table. (Not conclusive)

First Problem - Provided I have the wood, I want to paint it black, and shiny. What products should I use so that a) the paint doesn't chip at the slightest use and b) it's nice and shiny? :D

Second - Is it feasible to mount this sized table to the wall? I'm trying to make it look as "invisible" in terms of hardware as possible. Would someone kindly provide some insight in the general direction of doing something like this? What to buy and make? Will have some help from experienced friend.

Last edited by WhisperBlade; 05-27-2011 at 10:56 PM.
WhisperBlade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 06:59 AM   #2
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 2,932

Wall Mounted Table

A table (shelf) that wide will require brackets---large ones. If the top itself is strong enough to span 8 feet without sagging in the middle--one bracket on each end will be adequate.

Someone is going to sit on that at some time---along with thousands of dollars worth of instruments and equipment.

Plan for that amount of weight and you will be fine.

Old 05-28-2011, 08:36 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,000

Wall Mounted Table