Urgent Help Needed Installign Stair Rail And Balusters - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-17-2013, 09:19 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

urgent help needed installign stair rail and balusters

Hi all, I am new to the chatroom so hope my post is in the right topic.

We have someone installing a hand rail and balusters on our basement stairs. He works as a contractor, carpenter but he is young and doesn't seem to have done this particular job a lot.

The first post (newel) is right now flush against the outside edge of the first step. I like this because it leaves more width for the steps however, we are having carpet installed and I worry that they will not be able to wrap the carpet without a flat surface on edge of step.
The second problem is with the balusters.

he installed 3 last week and said he was having trouble making them straight. he changed his approach and made the holes for the rest of them saying he could finish this week and had figured it out.

The stairs are old and not even. The treads are slightly different widths (from wall out) and he also seems to be having trouble laying the balusters in a straight line going up the steps. How is this handled?

My guess would be to measure out from the wall to be sure they are all in line with one another?
he is just arriving as I am typing this so I will go have a meeting with him about this and then check back for hopefully some advice. Thanks so much!
Oh, I have seen lots of photos where instead of the balusters going directly into the stairs there is a block built along the edge of the steps so balusters go into that instead. Maybe we should be doing that?

Advertisement

Last edited by oh'mike; 08-19-2013 at 02:56 PM. Reason: added spaces
laurenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 02:50 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 75