Updating Plain Doors - Need Help - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-12-2009, 09:55 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Updating plain doors - Need Help

I am new to DIY, and would appreciate help, i have boaring plain flushed doors would like any advice how to update them, cheers sebbiemasc

Advertisement

sebbiemasc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 10:39 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 266

One option would be to replace them with doors sold at HD or Lowes. I had the same doors as you and changed out all of the doors with the 6 panel raised panel doors. As it turned out, I had to trim about the thickness of a saw blade off the hinge side of every door. Then they fit the existing door jambs perfectly. Also, I made a homemade hinge mortise template and that made the work go alot smoothly.

Good luck.
Mike

Advertisement

MT Stringer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 11:28 AM   #3
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT

Rewards Points: 1,000

Another option would be to go to your locale lumber yard or home center and pick out some low profile molding and glue it to the door surface. BOB
buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 09:06 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 75