TV In Enclosure Without Studs - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2014, 05:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

TV in enclosure without studs


Hey all, first time poster. I need to mount a TV above a fireplace in an enclosure, measures are as follow:

i.imgur.com/gpiMA7j.jpg ( pic of enclosure )

48 " (l) x 34 " (h) x 24 " (w) (24 inches deep from wall to back wall).

TV mount is swivel/ext arm with a 18" x 11" x 22"(extendable arm), and the arm extends from the left side of the bracket and not the middle.
(132 max weight)

46" inch tv (Specs - LED TV UN46B6000VF | Samsung TVs) with a weight of 38.8 lbs.

Being the enclosure is so deep, I'd like to almost fully extend the arm to have the tv sit on the edge of the enclosure and also the best gap possible between bottom of tv and bottom of enclosure to fit some dvd/cable box stuff.

The kicker is I can't find a stud anywhere in there. Can it be done safely ? All ideas welcome.

Advertisement

bonafide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 10:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,789
Rewards Points: 694
Default

TV in enclosure without studs


None of your pictures came up because you need 5 post to post a picture.
Why not just mount a flush mount bracket to the wall?
Unless your in a block or solid brick house there's studs in the wall.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 08:22 AM   #3
AHH, SPANS!!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Durham NC
Posts: 1,684
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default

TV in enclosure without studs


there should be studs at the opening. how much space is there from the inside edge of opening to the walls in the enclosure? if it is three inches it is probably a king and jack and they would be solid for mounting a 2x to them from inside the closure and just hang the tv mount from the 2x.
hand drive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 08:33 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 564
Default

TV in enclosure without studs


This is the OP's picture.
Attached Thumbnails
TV in enclosure without studs-gpima7j.jpg  
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 09:41 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 884
Default

TV in enclosure without studs


How did you try to locate the studs?Try a hammer and nail if all else fails.I would imagine there is a stud to the left of one of those boxes.Most sparies are right handed and nail the boxes on the right side of the stud.
mako1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 01:01 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: missouri
Posts: 255
Rewards Points: 234
Default

TV in enclosure without studs


I would make sure you have it into a stud. Putting it on the swivel arm you have a lot of pressure on the arm. you don't want to take a chance of falling on a kid. you might have to move it or open up the wall and put some backing in

Advertisement

scottktmrider is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siding right on studs? Davef_dci Carpentry 6 03-07-2013 06:31 PM
Wood or Steel wall studs? dredogol Building & Construction 2 07-10-2011 08:31 AM
Making wall studs plumb and on plane laxgrandma Carpentry 1 07-06-2011 06:32 PM
Attaching a worksurface directly to studs in of a basement wall BasementVirgin Building & Construction 3 10-06-2010 01:04 PM
using 8' studs vs 7'-9" studs RINAIL Carpentry 2 07-10-2008 05:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts