Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-17-2011, 06:21 PM   #1

Share |

Tread & Riser Problem Please help

Let me say this first I am a complete novice when it comes to stairs and risers! over the years I have done a lot carpentry and my partner in this remodeling project has build several houses.
Are project is replacing carpeted stairs with Red Oak stairs and risers. the stairs lead to the second floor living area. there are 16 stairs that are in an enclosed hallway with no access.
Are problem is that after the carpet from the exsisting stairs was removed. We found that the stringers (3) are designed to meet code with 3/4" plywood. the finished rise on each stair is 7 3/4" tread depth is 10".
We have purchased 1" x 11 1/2" x 36" red oak treads and 3/4" risers. First
We are going to remove the existing treads and risers!!
My question is what is the best way to rework the rise to meet code the new 1" height of the treads. 1" treads will give us an 8" rise?

Robert Vogt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 06:29 PM   #2
Disabled wood vet

The first rise, on the bottom, will have that extra 1" ripped off.
Just that one.
Now it will follow the correct rise all the way up.
(the risers go behind the treads)

Sent from a Samsung Galaxy S2

Last edited by titanoman; 12-17-2011 at 06:31 PM.
titanoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 07:35 PM   #3

The 1" treads will give you a 8" rise for the first step and a 7.5" rise for the last step because of the greater thickness. Assuming the flooring is going to remain the same on both floors the only way to make all the rises equal is to take ¼" off of each stringer where the treads attach.
Msradell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 07:42 PM   #4
Disabled wood vet

Quote:
Originally Posted by Msradell View Post