Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-24-2007, 06:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Topper for Entertainment Unit


We recently purchased an Aspenhome Georgetown expandable entertainment unit for our family room, and we love the features it has. (see http://www.aspenhome.net/default.aspx?tabid=223&pid=374) The only downside is the family room is open to the roof level, and the top of the unit can be seen from the upper level. We want to cover the “light bridge” and the two end pier units for that reason, and also to be able to place two large ornamental birdcages on top.

My spouse and I have different opinions on what to use and how to employ our topper. One way is to have a board cut for the full distance, which is 68” wide by 23” deep, and to put some braces under the center of the cover to ensure it will not sag under the weight of the birdcages. The other way is to cut 4 separate boards and attach them, front to back, in that there will be less weight on the overall surface and only on the boards that come in contact to the birdcage stands. Which is the best option?

Lastly, what type of board should we use; MDF, plywood, real wood, and what thickness will be necessary. We plan to paint the solution flat black, whichever way we do it. Thanks in advance!

peterz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2007, 11:36 AM   #2
Member
 
Darylh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nanoose Bay Vancouver Island BC
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Topper for Entertainment Unit


I like the plywood idea myself and I would use 3/4" fir or birch

Darylh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 02:47 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Topper for Entertainment Unit


I would take into account heat build up when you cover the light section. You might want to incorporate a big enough grill so the heat can escape.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 03:36 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Topper for Entertainment Unit


Thank you both. We will be using 3/4" fir and I will be making a vent above the lights. Appreciate your advice.
peterz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps wishiknewmore HVAC 39 06-28-2012 08:51 PM
can I swap a (3) 60watt unit into a spot where I have a (1) 60watt unit? joeyboy Electrical 11 07-29-2007 07:25 PM
Used Central Air Unit? shep28 HVAC 2 04-21-2007 07:59 PM
central air unit question princessme HVAC 4 07-08-2006 09:13 PM
Need to expand existing concrete pad for A/C unit miketegra Building & Construction 2 07-03-2005 10:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.