Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-22-2012, 07:18 PM   #1

Share |

Tapered angles

Greetings. I am a fairly experienced woodworker who has made tables, craft items, TV stands, and other such projects. I would like to make a cedar birdhouse. The bottom part will be straightforward, 8 sides, with a diameter of about 9". The top, however , presents a challenge. I would like the "roof" to be conical, consisting of 8 segments (panels) 9" diameter at the bottom, tapering to 1 1/2" diameter at the top. My question is: How do I figure out the proper angle (mitre" ) to cut on the sides of each piece ?

Thank you

Michael Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:26 PM   #2

Tapered angles

Edit: deleted

jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 01:07 AM   #3

Tapered angles

if I am understanding correctly you are talking about an octagon shaped (either sides) with an octagon shaped roof. The angles would depend on the measurement from the 9" diameter to the 1-1/2" diameter sections of the roof. What is that distance? Will the edges of the roof overhang the sides of the birdhouse or be flushed? A sketch of your intent would help.

"You get what you pay for, and sometimes free costs more!"
GBrackins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 06:23 AM   #4

Tapered angles

If I get a chance, I will draw it up in Autocad after lunch and get the angles.

Last edited by danpik; 07-23-2012 at 10:58 AM.
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:10 AM   #5
Cruising into the sunset

Tapered angles

I would probably use dollhouse roofing shakes. They are small and therefore easier to mold around the curves. In order to get them to mold to the curvature, put them in a steamer for a few minutes. That's how the pros do complex cedar shake roofs.