Steel Wire Deck Railing - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2009, 12:30 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Steel wire deck railing


I'm replacing a deck post that has horizontal stainless steel wire running through it. I have to remove the wires, drill holes in the new post and replace the wires. How do I ensure that the drilled holes are centralised and horizontal? And can I re-use the wires? How do I unclamp and re-clamp them?

Derrick41

Advertisement

Derrick41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 07:26 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Steel wire deck railing


I have never done wire rails, but have seen them done. There is usually a turnbuckle somewhere in each line to tension the wires. Unscrew that and all comes loose. Using a drill press is one way of drilling exact holes. Another method is a drill with a level built in.

Advertisement

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deck Post Height for Composite Post Railing ylwdog Building & Construction 5 11-15-2010 10:01 AM
Is using a ground wire as neutral wire safe? Head Fred Electrical 9 12-18-2008 03:37 PM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 02:00 PM
Deck railing posts sandyman720 Building & Construction 7 05-29-2008 03:53 PM
Deck at seasonal camp site... Spike99 Project Showcase 0 12-24-2007 04:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts