Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-19-2013, 05:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

stairs


Building a stairs with two 'runs', that is, there's a landing about 3/4 of the way up to the 2nd floor. I built the first set of stairs (12 steps) at 7 1/2" rise...which I now realize was a mistake. If I keep going with it, the rises for the 2nd run (4 more steps from landing to 2nd floor) will be only 7" a piece. I'm wondering if that will be a problem? Since it is a different run perhaps it will be ok? Any thoughts appreciated. (This is a new self-build construction house.) Thanks.
palmergregory3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 05:47 PM   #2
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,406
Default

stairs


1/2 inch difference in rise is huge when it comes to steps. You really want the rise to all be the same. That is the most important thing. You can really take a header and get hurt badly otherwise.
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 07:31 PM   #3
journeyman carpenter
 
woodworkbykirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 2,589
Default

stairs


even with a landing the risers have to be within 1/8" to comply with most regions codes. the only time there can be a differnce that much is if its for stairs leading to different floors of the house.

a friend of mine is having a house built as we speak.. the contractor they hired to frame the house doesnt know how to cut stringers.. there wer variances up to 3/4" from one riser to the next.. they failed the framing inspection because of this and now require the stairs to be rebuilt
woodworkbykirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 07:38 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,477
Default

stairs


May be time to bit the bullet on this one and hire a pro. Time and time again we've seen many a DIY stair case and so far they all needed to start over.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 08:27 PM   #5
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 6,655
Default

stairs


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
May be time to bit the bullet on this one and hire a pro.
I don't see it like that in this case Joe...The guy just built his house and made a mistake on the stairs. Redo and move on.

Some of the most valuable lessons I've learned were from my own mistakes. $$$

A hundred bucks worth of 2x12, better math and less than a day and all's good.

A lesson learned.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kwikfishron For This Useful Post:
Dave Sal (03-19-2013)
Old 03-19-2013, 09:30 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 43
Default

stairs


best advise I can tell you is adjust your landing layout to get the rise the same for both sets of stringers. remember the human body naturally adjusts to a set of stairs after just 3 steps.
ubcguy89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 11:02 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Default

stairs


Thanks for the replies. The problem was that the basement stairs went too smoothly... I actually only cut one of the stringers for the main floor stairs, but it is a nice piece of 5/4 x 12 white oak. Ouch. It's a housed stringer so now I'm wondering if I could adjust the level and plumb cuts and still use it? I'll have to look into that.
palmergregory3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 08:09 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,477
Default

stairs


No way would I be using 5/4 anything for a stringer!
Needs to be 1-1/2.
On the outside stringers you are adding a 2 X 4 to the bottom of the stringer to space it out away from the wall for the apron and sheetrock, right?
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 08:25 AM   #9
Member
 
GBrackins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,734
Default

stairs


I may stir up a hornet's nest, but have your discussed this with your building official. It all depends on your building code.

According to the 2009 International Residential Code a flight is defined as from one landing to another landing, not one floor to another floor. A quick call to your building department can answer your question per the one that makes the final determination.

Now if it were my place I'd redo the stairs. But then I have CDO.
__________________
Gary

"You get what you pay for, and sometimes free costs more!"
GBrackins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:55 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 43
Default

stairs


I would never use 5/4 for a stringer, and neither should you!
ubcguy89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with stairs rogers_t Carpentry 11 02-26-2013 11:30 AM
Questions about building stairs. cvriv.charles Building & Construction 7 12-19-2012 04:04 PM
Building Code Requirements: Basement Stairs (Quantity) dutchswan0311 Building & Construction 27 09-19-2011 06:13 PM
Strengthening stairs with less support HitLines Remodeling 1 10-29-2009 11:45 PM
Painted the stairs ... . kimber Painting 8 10-07-2009 11:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.