Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-01-2009, 12:33 PM   #1

Share |

Stair Height

There are 10 steps on my stairs. I think the riser height is around 8 1/2 inches and the tread is 11 1/2 inches.

All the step heights are even exept the top 2.

The 9th step has a height of about 9 1/2 inches and the last step has a height of about 5 1/2 inches.

Is there any somewhat simple way to fix this?

-John

lda130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 12:39 PM   #2
Newbie Bill

Stair Height

I am no expert, but that combination seems more than a little dangerous.

If I did my caculations correctly, you have a total rise of about 83 inches. If possible you should redo the entire staircase with 11 steps so that each riser is about 7.5 inches high. I think 7.5 inches is a more appropriate number.

Let's wait to hear what the experts say.

A DIY Noob that knows just enough to be dangerous.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 04:30 PM   #3

Stair Height

I agree with Drtbk. It sounds dangerous. An accident waiting to happen. Bring it to the 2000's, 7-3/4" max. riser, 10" min. tread, plus a nosing. Now that there is a paper trail, your insurance company can reject a claim......
Be safe, G
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 05:12 PM   #4
Apprentice

Stair Height

You can have 11R@7.55'' or 7'' and 1/2 weak. 10T@10.35'' or 10'' 5/16 weak. I know nosing in my area is no less than 3/4'', no more than 1 1/4''. So that would add to the tread once you put the finish on. The top riser can be shorter since you can use the top floor as a riser. The bottom riser can differ if there is a sub floor or finish floor. I think I'm right. But you should re-do it. Timmy
Old 09-01-2009, 05:12 PM   #5
Old School

Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.

Stair Height