Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-12-2010, 01:26 AM   #1
DIYer

Share |

Stair building - Traditional stringers or EZ Stairs?

Hi again

I have a 40" wide 4 stair interior staircase that was built terribly and has suffered water damage from a roof leak; it needs to be rebuilt from the ground up.
I've never built stairs before but I've done my homework and have a good idea about the process. I found EZ Stairs online though and I'm impressed with how much it simplifies the process but unsure whether it's actually worth it. Any words on them?

Another question: The proper way to construct the stairs is to first install wallboard, then skirt board on top of that, yes?
This diagram recommends a 2x12 skirt board but a 1.5" protruding trim piece like that seems too wide and might be awkward looking

Is 2x material the sticking out from the wall the norm? Ripping a 2x12 in half would be a more suitable width for trim I'd think

Thanks in advance for your advice

dwoloz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 05:50 AM   #2
DIY staff

Are these fancy stairs with oak treads and risers?
Builders stairs with 2x treads?

I've always cut my own stringers---Learned with 'The Little Blue Book"--Comes with the new framing square--A pair of stair gauges (Small brass clamp for the square) finishes up the tools--

Use the search feature--WillieT has posted fine pictures and explanations--Mike---

The drawing you posted is for a set of open deck stairs-----

oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
BigJim (08-12-2010), Willie T (08-12-2010)
Old 08-12-2010, 08:49 AM   #3
STAFF

I agree with Mike, that is for an outside open deck. When I built stairs we nailed a 2X4 against the studs flush with the bottom of the stringer, sheet rock and 1X12 over sheet rock like you said.

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote