Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-08-2011, 04:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

skin panel


how do you install 1/4 inch thick skin on side of bathroom cabinet where you cant see nails? can you use glue only?

nyinsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 04:27 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 0
Default

skin panel


If it's wood to wood, yes.

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DangerMouse For This Useful Post:
nyinsd (07-08-2011)
Old 07-08-2011, 04:30 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

skin panel


it is wood to wood. basically new skin going over old skin where 2 cabinets are put together to make linen cabinet
nyinsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 04:36 PM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 0
Default

skin panel


I'd use carpenter's wood glue and clamp it somehow as well.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DangerMouse For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (07-08-2011)
Old 07-08-2011, 04:37 PM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 0
Default

skin panel


If the old skin has any type of (polyurethane, lacquer, etc.) finish, the glue will not hold well unless you strip the finish off.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 04:41 PM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 0
Default

skin panel


Of course, if you don't want to sand it, then you could use contact cement.....

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panel cleanup gdoucette Electrical 5 06-26-2010 02:01 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Extending Old Main Circuit Panel lkpowell Electrical 4 10-23-2008 02:15 PM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.