Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-20-2009, 01:16 PM   #1

Share |

Sill Plate shim replacement and gaps

I just had my home inspected for the upcoming closing and the inspector noted a major concern with the use of shims and that the wall should be reinforced. Any ideas for acceptable repair would be greatly appreciated.

Best regards

kenglish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 01:37 PM   #2

Sounds like you need to pack mortar mix into the gaps between the sill plate and the concrete wall top. Smooth the outside face, if able to, when done. Be safe, G

Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 07:46 AM   #3

I have no experience with this and the gap in the inside of the crawl space at the sill plate ranges from 1/4" to 3/4" and the length is probably 15 ft. on perpendicular walls. Is the shimmming an acceptable method of leveling the sill plate and how much is allowable? Will packing mortar into the cracks be an acceptable method for reinforcing the sill plate? The foundation is not poured concrete, it is block construction, therefore the top is the open side of the block and it is directly beneath the sill plate. Is there building code that covers this? Thanks in advance for all the help!! I would attach photos but I haven't figured out if I can do that....suggestions?

Last edited by kenglish; 05-21-2009 at 08:20 AM. Reason: added text
Old 05-22-2009, 10:06 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenglish View Post
I just had my home inspected for the upcoming closing and the inspector noted a major concern with the use of shims and that the wall should be reinforced. Any ideas for acceptable repair would be greatly appreciated.

Best regards
What exactly are you saying about the wall? Is this the foundation wall? Exterior wall? Etc...
What type of foundation is this? What's it shimmed with? How big are the gaps? How old is the house?