DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

should I replaced the deck?

16K views 18 replies 8 participants last post by  Scuba_Dave 
#1 ·
I just power washed my deck and discover that about 50% of the boards are cracked or with holes. I really don't want to replaced whole deck because I'm on really tight budget right now. Since I have very little experience with decking, could anyone tell me do those boards need to be replaced, and if not what can I do. Originaly I was going to sand them and apply stain. Thanks for any suggestion.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Are they 3/4 or 1-1/2" thick? Looks like they are pretty old, because I see a lot of checking, splitting, and board movement recessing some screws. Judging from the screw hole rust, in 2nd pic., I would be wary of having too much weight on the deck. I see some screws that could trip someone, yet how spongy is it to walk on? It looks to be cedar, from the knothole pic. Try poking boards with an awl or ice pick, is it soft in numerous places? A sure sign of rot from water damage. If it was mine, I would replace it. At least the badly split ones. Be safe, GBAR

#3 · (Edited)
reply to GBAR

I appriciate your responding! I just measured the boards and they are 1" thick. They do not feel spongy at all. They are not roted. I was wondering if sanding and staining will significaly improve the look of the boards? If I decide to keep the old boards can I use some kind of filler to fix the holes and crackes? Thanks.

#4 ·
As long as they are sound you could paint or stain them again
I had an old front deck that looke3d about the same
I sanded down rogh edges & restained it
Mine was only about 16" off the ground, so I wasn't worried about a board breaking.
Yours looks like it is much higher off the ground
Make sure the boards will carry weight
Check the beams & joists

#5 ·