Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-05-2010, 11:56 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Rookie mistake - question about smoothing out an "oops"

My wife is a Halloween nut and I decided to take a stab at building her a small bookshelf that resembles a coffin. I was pretty pleased with the mitered cuts I made because, for the most part, they all fit (will need some filler but since it's my first time I am not too upset about this).

The major mistake I made is that I did not check the boards very well () when I bought them and they are "cupped" when you look at the ends.

The boards are already nailed (18ga finish nails) together and the piece is currently in my garage with a band clamp holding it together until I put the shelves and 1/4" plywood backing in.

I can post pictures later but I think I can explain what I'm trying to do:

For example, where two boards meet one is cupped and the other is straight. Is there a product I can use to fill the "gap" that I have to make it appear straight once it is painted? I'm thinking something that I can fill in and then sand/scrape to appear flush to the straight board's edge.

Sorry if this is a horrible description - at work right now and I can post pictures later if necessary.

Just thought I'd throw this out there to see if anyone could sympathize and provide some insight.

Thanks in advance.

brich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 12:00 PM   #2
the Musigician

Rewards Points: 2,000

Is there a chance you can add some glue and clamp the curl out?
Pics would surely help, yupyupyup!
But....even if they don't, I'm sure our members would love to see this project!

DM

Old 04-05-2010, 01:39 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,000